We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many pluses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Dresden, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Many pluses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was at the Windsor again after 10 years in January, 2014. The surroundings are as sylvan, the walk, run or cycling possibility still as attractive, the staff are helpful even if somewhat doleful looking for some reason (!). Maintenance has been very good over the decade. The grand public spaces with their high ceilings and lovely flooring continue to impress. The addition of excellent wi-fi connectivity has added value. Some things have not changed. They still leave only a small bottle of water in your room and no kettle to get yourself a cup of tea or coffee. The ambience for a workshop is great but the pillars in the Country Room detract from the ability to really become a first rate conference facility. The food needs spicing up for the eastern palate!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a more expansive view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Sanan,
We are glad that you appreciate the look and feel of the our hotel. Among other 5 star services, we have made it a priority to ensure that our guests enjoy 10MB of broadband internet. This is to ensure your connectivity to family, friends and business associates.
Thank you for sparing time to make this review, we take all reviews positively.

We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    25
    14
    10
See reviews for
17
24
1
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the Windsor Golf Country Club Hotel for 3 nights at the end of November 2013. We were there on a business trip from Brussels a group of 17 people.
We strongly recommend this hotel not only for business stay but also for holidays for couples as well as families with children. It's location and the variety of choices of the food and drinks was of a highest quality. Furthermore the friendliness, warm attitude and helpfulness of all the personnel were extremely professional. We also want to express our gratitude and appreciation for the generosity and the kindness of the General Manager Mr Marc Van der Borght and the Head of Concierge Mr Japheth Munywoki. They made our stay at the Windsor hotel so much special and memorable.
We would definitely choose again this hotel in our next visit to Nairobi. Hopefully soon!!!
Thank you again for everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Karagiavouroglo,

Thank you for sparing time to make your review about our hotel.

Indeed it was a pleasure to ensure that you had a special stay at the Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club. Indeed as you have mentioned, this hotel comfortably accommodates families, couples and the business travelers while for those going on safari, we are a perfect stop over in and out of the country.

We look forward to hosting you in you next visit. Karibu Tena na Tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Windsor is a great hotel in the leafy suburbs of Nairobi! Our family was in residence for the better part of two weeks Dec-21-Jan 3,2014, except when we stepped out for a few safari breaks. The Windsor's location is perfect for combined hotel and safari holidays. Amboseli, Nairobi National Park, The Mara and many other parks are quite close to Nairobi. So, the Windsor is a good solution for families or anyone looking for some 5 star comfort in Nairobi.

The Hotel staff we very nice and went out of their way to be helpful. The Doorman is very knowledgeable. There are numerous staff per client, so if you need housekeeping, doorman, room service or ice cream, it is never far away!

Food is very good, especially in main dining room, usually accompanied by live music. Sometimes, food delivery took awhile but this is a common issue in Kenya and hotels in general. It is always a challenge for hotel kitchens to handle peak volumes. Once you adjust your lead times, there is no problem. Besides, the weather and scenery mean there is no rush.

The swimming pool is very strong, one of the few heated pools in Nairobi. Quiet in morning, then fairly busy until 9pm! Many families eat around the pool.

Golf course is very good, it great shape, never a bad lie. Monkeys on a few holes but they are used to golfers and not a nuisance. Kites fly around the 9th and 18th holes, sometimes they land on your ball, hoping it is an egg, but then they fly off without moving it! As hotel guest, keen golfers can play early at 7-730am and meet family at pool by 11am. Perfect. Caddies are knowledgeable.

Rooms work well, maybe getting slightly dated, but not a issue. Beds and linen very good. Manager said a sensitive renovation program is underway where they do a wing at a time so minimal disruption. We were there for Christmas and New Year, appreciated the special events the hotel put on, maybe a little more noise than usual but nothing that kept anyone from sleeping after a day the the Kenyan sun.

I am a big fan and will be back!

Now, sadly, back in London now and wishing I was by the pool sipping on a steamed Kenyan tea!

Marc and team.

Keep up the good work at the Windsor!!!

Room Tip: Villas are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Alfred,

It is always a pleasure to host you in our hotel and thank you for the kind review. As you have mentioned, we will soon begin our renovations to ensure our guest will have a different experience every time they visit us.

Just to let you know, Windsor Golf hotel is the only hotel in Nairobi that offers the widest variety of out door facilities from an 18 hole golf course to 3 different jogging tracks, tennis & squash courts, mountain biking, petanque just to mention a few.
This is just the place to be

We look forward to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My family of 5 was joined by another family of 5 for a 3 day safari in the Masai Mara. We needed a hotel the night before and the night after our safari was over. We chose the cottages at the Windsor and found them to be perfectly suited to our needs. The room decor was lovely. The rainfall shower head was so refreshing, especially coming back from the Masai Mara! The water was hot. Everything was clean. The most troublesome complaint I can make was that the rugs on the polished wood floor were dangerously slippery.
We did not golf and we did not swim.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for your review. Windsor is indeed a preferred stop over hotel for the Safari lovers. We are perfect to host groups, couples and even families. With our upcoming renovations, a lot shall improve to make your stay memorable.

We are glad you stayed with us and look forward host you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Windsor for 6 nights and of that there were functions on 2 nights- Fri and Sat and during the functions the service for hotel guests dropped and was abysmal and the food took at least one hour and on 2 occasions the dishes were horrible!! (A jar of cardamom must have been poured into the butter chicken!). Fri and Sat nights, the room was vibrating as the music was on non-stop from 1 to 9pm. Avoid this hotel if you want a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Narmi,

Thank you for taking time to make a review on our hotel.

Our hotel is amongst the few preferred venues for out door events. It is our policy that events end by 10pm for the sake of our resident guests. In addition helicopter land at our helipad only between 8am-6pm.

We can assure all our guests that Windsor offers a peaceful, serene and secure environment to please our in-house guests away from the hustle and bustle of the Nairobi city center

We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Nothing negative to tell about the place and the setting. This a dream environment !
However for the price asked, one could expect an operative shower (several colleagues complained as well) and TV (poor quality of image, very narrow choice of programmes despite satellite).
Further on, despite the fact that the stay had to be paid at check-in (which is quite unusual !), it took more than half an hour to check-out (staff was even not able to correct the address of the company on the bill !)
Difficult to understand why this hotel got a TripAdvisor award in 2012 !

Room Tip: No specific tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Beautiful location, nice staff and service, great food. What else can you ask for? Well, fat wallet or a company to pick up the bills. I was on the latter category, but will plan to bring my family to enjoy what this resort has to offer. A real jewel made by man, not far away from Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear KK,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad that you have considered
to bring your family to enjoy what the resort has to offer.
For the sake of those who think we are far from the hotel, we are a 13 minute drive from the
Nairobi city, thanks to the new Thika Road Super highway. We are also an hours drive to the famous Rift Valley and lake Naivasha making it possible to provide our guests with high level day safaris. We also organize guided historical evening tours of the Nairobi City with professional tour guides.

We look forward to hosting you again, do not hesitate to let us know of any specific needs you may have to enhance your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is a Kenyan 5 star hotel resort with a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking our spectacular 18-hole championship golf course, are tastefully decorated and have five-star amenities. With a 16-hour business center, free internet access in all rooms & free wifi in public areas, jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and even your family won’t miss a moment of excitement when you choose to stay/visit the Windsor. Our greatest asset is SPACE, an AWESOME AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.