We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My family of 5 was joined by another family of 5 for a 3 day safari in the Masai Mara. We needed a hotel the night before and the night after our safari was over. We chose the cottages at the Windsor and found them to be perfectly suited to our needs. The room decor was lovely. The rainfall shower head was so refreshing, especially coming back from the Masai Mara! The water was hot. Everything was clean. The most troublesome complaint I can make was that the rugs on the polished wood floor were dangerously slippery.
We did not golf and we did not swim.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for your review. Windsor is indeed a preferred stop over hotel for the Safari lovers. We are perfect to host groups, couples and even families. With our upcoming renovations, a lot shall improve to make your stay memorable.

We are glad you stayed with us and look forward host you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    50
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
19
26
1
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Windsor for 6 nights and of that there were functions on 2 nights- Fri and Sat and during the functions the service for hotel guests dropped and was abysmal and the food took at least one hour and on 2 occasions the dishes were horrible!! (A jar of cardamom must have been poured into the butter chicken!). Fri and Sat nights, the room was vibrating as the music was on non-stop from 1 to 9pm. Avoid this hotel if you want a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Narmi,

Thank you for taking time to make a review on our hotel.

Our hotel is amongst the few preferred venues for out door events. It is our policy that events end by 10pm for the sake of our resident guests. In addition helicopter land at our helipad only between 8am-6pm.

We can assure all our guests that Windsor offers a peaceful, serene and secure environment to please our in-house guests away from the hustle and bustle of the Nairobi city center

We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Nothing negative to tell about the place and the setting. This a dream environment !
However for the price asked, one could expect an operative shower (several colleagues complained as well) and TV (poor quality of image, very narrow choice of programmes despite satellite).
Further on, despite the fact that the stay had to be paid at check-in (which is quite unusual !), it took more than half an hour to check-out (staff was even not able to correct the address of the company on the bill !)
Difficult to understand why this hotel got a TripAdvisor award in 2012 !

Room Tip: No specific tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Beautiful location, nice staff and service, great food. What else can you ask for? Well, fat wallet or a company to pick up the bills. I was on the latter category, but will plan to bring my family to enjoy what this resort has to offer. A real jewel made by man, not far away from Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear KK,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad that you have considered
to bring your family to enjoy what the resort has to offer.
For the sake of those who think we are far from the hotel, we are a 13 minute drive from the
Nairobi city, thanks to the new Thika Road Super highway. We are also an hours drive to the famous Rift Valley and lake Naivasha making it possible to provide our guests with high level day safaris. We also organize guided historical evening tours of the Nairobi City with professional tour guides.

We look forward to hosting you again, do not hesitate to let us know of any specific needs you may have to enhance your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for about 5 days and I had a very tremendous experience.
My major admiration was the goodnight chocolate.
Your hotel is about the best place to be if one is in Kenya.
Please continue with your great services which gives me constant memories of your hotel

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Kenneth,

It is our joy that you valued your stay in our hotel. It is the small things like home made praline chocolates that made your stay. We encourage our staff to ensure every guest has a wonderful stay here at the Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was in hotel in the start of this month and stayed for about 1wk and so the set up of hotel is great from the reception to the rooms,restaurant,mainly we had our meals at pool restaurant,where our tables were all reserved even without our request thanks so much to Edward,Reagan the other staff and also the chefs for the great food ,cant forget Parminus and the cold tusker.i enjoyed and would now consider coming back with my family.thnks n kep up the great services .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
"It was a pleasure hosting you here at the Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club and we appreciate the great feedback. Our staff are always eager to make every guests stay at the hotel memorable.
It is a joy to us that you consider to come again next time with your family, we look forward to your next visit."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

As a local, I have been to Windsor many times but never stayed there until recently. The service was great, the food was delicious and plenty, and the view of the lush, green golf course was very pleasant. The colonial style rooms are very spacious although the furnishings are probably as old as the hotel. The drapes, carpets and TV need to be upgraded. The bathroom was OK - the shower area is very small and so after a shower the entire bathroom is flooded with water, which is annoying. There is a bathtub but it has no shower head.

Other than those little perks our stay was enjoyable and very relaxing. Over the weekends the hotel gets pretty busy with lots of golfers and so we preferred to stay away from the crowds and enjoyed other parts of the hotel that were less busy.

I hope that the management will consider redecorating the rooms. Additionally, I think that the subsidized rate of the gym to hotel residents should be scrapped. This should be a service included as part of your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
"we are grateful that you found a chance to spend at the Windsor and that your stay was pleasant. Just to Let you know, we will soon be renovating the whole hotel and am sure the experience will be different according to some of the concerns you have highlighted.

As for our gym, let me clarify that the subsidized rate for using the facility apply to the
hotel non-residents and this facility is not chargeable to our resident hotel guests and club members.

Over and above, thank you for taking time to review the hotel."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is a Kenyan 5 star hotel resort with a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking our spectacular 18-hole championship golf course, are tastefully decorated and have five-star amenities. With a 16-hour business center, free internet access in all rooms & free wifi in public areas, jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and even your family won’t miss a moment of excitement when you choose to stay/visit the Windsor. Our greatest asset is SPACE, an AWESOME AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.