We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME AWAY FROM HOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Accra, Ghana
1 review
“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for about 5 days and I had a very tremendous experience.
My major admiration was the goodnight chocolate.
Your hotel is about the best place to be if one is in Kenya.
Please continue with your great services which gives me constant memories of your hotel

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Kenneth,

It is our joy that you valued your stay in our hotel. It is the small things like home made praline chocolates that made your stay. We encourage our staff to ensure every guest has a wonderful stay here at the Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    50
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
19
26
1
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was in hotel in the start of this month and stayed for about 1wk and so the set up of hotel is great from the reception to the rooms,restaurant,mainly we had our meals at pool restaurant,where our tables were all reserved even without our request thanks so much to Edward,Reagan the other staff and also the chefs for the great food ,cant forget Parminus and the cold tusker.i enjoyed and would now consider coming back with my family.thnks n kep up the great services .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
"It was a pleasure hosting you here at the Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club and we appreciate the great feedback. Our staff are always eager to make every guests stay at the hotel memorable.
It is a joy to us that you consider to come again next time with your family, we look forward to your next visit."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

As a local, I have been to Windsor many times but never stayed there until recently. The service was great, the food was delicious and plenty, and the view of the lush, green golf course was very pleasant. The colonial style rooms are very spacious although the furnishings are probably as old as the hotel. The drapes, carpets and TV need to be upgraded. The bathroom was OK - the shower area is very small and so after a shower the entire bathroom is flooded with water, which is annoying. There is a bathtub but it has no shower head.

Other than those little perks our stay was enjoyable and very relaxing. Over the weekends the hotel gets pretty busy with lots of golfers and so we preferred to stay away from the crowds and enjoyed other parts of the hotel that were less busy.

I hope that the management will consider redecorating the rooms. Additionally, I think that the subsidized rate of the gym to hotel residents should be scrapped. This should be a service included as part of your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
"we are grateful that you found a chance to spend at the Windsor and that your stay was pleasant. Just to Let you know, we will soon be renovating the whole hotel and am sure the experience will be different according to some of the concerns you have highlighted.

As for our gym, let me clarify that the subsidized rate for using the facility apply to the
hotel non-residents and this facility is not chargeable to our resident hotel guests and club members.

Over and above, thank you for taking time to review the hotel."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was somewhat concerned with a number of bad reviews, however on a previous visit to Nairobi we went to the Windsor Golf and Country Club for Lunch at the poolside restaurant which was delightful.
On this occasion we stayed four nights with the children and stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom, living room cottage overlooking the golf course . The whole place had a colonial feel to it and the kids named the cottage ' snow white cottage' and was surrounded by lush greenery.
The room service was excellent, I called housekeeping for laundry and within a few minutes someone was there to collect the laundry, the morning tea was delivered to the cottage within five minutes of the call.

Breakfast was an extensive buffet and if some preferred food was not in the buffet ( eg fried eggs, beef sausages) the staff happily ordered these from the kitchen.
You do not need to be a golfer to enjoy the place and it has a kids friendly feel to it.
Some fine tuning with one or two staff might help, the waiter took bread from his tray to my plate with his fingers, no big deal but not something one would expect!

The rainwater shower and the shower pressure was one of the best I have experienced at any hotel.

Overall a great and thoroughly enjoyable stay with the family in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Ask early for a heater in the cold months, june- September as they seem to run out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Joseph,
We do appreciate your faith in our hotel and that you had an 'overall great and thoroughly enjoyable stay'. We always encourage and believe in our staff to deliver excellent service
and your observation to fine tune our staff has been noted. Let me emphasize also (as you have done) that indeed you don't have to be a golfer to enjoy the facilities here, there is so much more that one can enjoy besides golf.

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule and review the hotel. We look forward to hosting you again in the hotel"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I am travelling several times a year to Kenya to stay one or more days in Nairobi. My overall experience in seveal circumstances is a secure hotel in a nature friendly environment. Business meetings in a cosy place is possible without noisy disturbance. There are sport facilities like mountaitn biking or a walk around the golf course without leaving the hotel premises. The food quality is top and the service is great. Transport to go downtown is perfectly organised. I am looking forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
"Dear Dirkverbeke,

Your review is much appreciated and I must say , as you have mentioned, that we are only 15min away from the CBD and United Nations offices in Gigiri. Also security for all our visitors is a key factor in ensuring everyone's peace of mind while in the hotel.

Thank you for the time you have taken to review our hotel. We look forward to you next stay with us."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

When we posted pictures of the Windsor online, friends thought that we'd travelled to England. To me, the hotel reminded me of India's hill stations.

Overall, we loved the old colonial style of the hotel and its creaking wooden floors and ancient plumbing. While I was working, the missus stayed back at the hotel and enjoyed being able to step outside rather than being cooped up had we been at a city hotel.

The staff were, without exception, friendly and gracious and its restaurants offer an excellent menu of dishes that, judging from the time it to get the food to our table, was cooked from scratch. The only flaw I would point to was the fact that some of the waiting staff, on occasion, weren't very attentive but that's something I can live with.

The Windsor is pricey but sophisticated and, in my opinion, a lot nicer than some of the 'resorts' in the area. Its only real drawback is the fact that its far from most things including the airport, tourists sites (like the giraffe centre and the Karen Blixen museum) and downtown Nairobi and the city's traffic snarls don't make it easy to get into town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
"Dear Travelgoan,

Thank you for staying with us during your last visit and the encouraging feedback.
As for our hotel being 'pricey', we believe that our rates are very competitive compared to other 5 star hotels in Nairobi. I must say that the current road network upgrades we see our government enforcing, will make access to other parts of the CBD very accessible.

We look forward to hosting you again in the days to come."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The overall ambiance of the resort was quality and comfortable but with regal English charm. My husband and I stayed 5 days and found the staff to be so accommodating and remembered our names by day 2! I exhausted the staff with questions and small favors since I was constantly arranging rides and rendevous in Nairobi without a phone! They were always happy to help and even honored my secret requests for a couple of perks! (I can't say because I'm sure it was an exception to the rules!!) The grounds were gorgeous! The facilities clean and organized, our room was also. The Windsor is a shimmering, clean oasis just outside the rougher city of Nairobi. We were impressed with our stay. Also, we were there while they hosted "Jazz Under the Stars." Incredible event on the golf course. Fabulous! The highlight of the vacation. Incredible talent on stage nd incredible organization and layed back luxury off stage!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
"Dear Amanda,

It was a great honor to host you and the very talented jazz artist Phil Deny here at the Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club. Our hotel is well known for its beautiful grounds which are perfect for memorable out door events.

We are also very grateful that you took time to review our property and also appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your stay and the service offered by our staff.

We hope and look forward to host you in your next visit to Kenya."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is a Kenyan 5 star hotel resort with a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking our spectacular 18-hole championship golf course, are tastefully decorated and have five-star amenities. With a 16-hour business center, free internet access in all rooms & free wifi in public areas, jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and even your family won’t miss a moment of excitement when you choose to stay/visit the Windsor. Our greatest asset is SPACE, an AWESOME AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.