We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintaining old British charms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Save Saved
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Islamabad, Pakistan
2 reviews
“Maintaining old British charms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel has an air of old British charm around it. The rooms have a great view of the lush green golf course and the service, though a bit relaxed, is dependable. The best part is having a 5 km jogging/cyling track at your doorstep. This is integrated through the golf course and the intertwined wilderness. For an open air lover like me, this is what always bring me back here.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with the direct access to the golf course on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimaniJames, Guest Relations Officer at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear AMIN586,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club. We greatly appreciate you taking time to share your valuable review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you appreciate the great view of the golf course from all our rooms.

Your comments have been shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to improve and continue their efforts to make the Windsor the hotel of choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hosting you at the Windsor.

Thanks and kind regards,

Esther Kung'u,
Guest Relations Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    46
    23
    14
    8
See reviews for
16
22
1
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The worst experience ever…..I’ve had a one week holiday with my husband and 5 year old daughter, in Kenya.

The hotel was rated as a 5*, unfortunately we felt that the it did not meet this standard. I felt that the level of staffing was poor, this was especially noticeable in the dining room and lobby. The staff are always bored and acting like you’re constantly disturbing. Most of their employees don’t speak fluent English, so, if you need something, you will have to ask a few people until you’re lucky enough to finally find one who can understand what you’re saying. They advertise an international cuisine, but they serve Kenyan dishes, just with English names. They also advertise WI-fi, big joke that its only in the hotel reception area where you can get signal and no privacy. NO Entertainment whosoever!

Rooms are spacious and clean but bathrooms have cracked tiles and moldy grout - but the cleaner did his best to work with what he had. The hotel could do with a refurbishment, it has seen better days, money needs to be spent on it due to the wear and tear.

Room Tip: rooms with a view to the greens seem better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimaniJames, Guest Relations Officer at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Hadija Y,

Thank you for taking time to share your review on your recent stay at the Windsor.

We sincerely apologize that your expectations were not met. We have in particular noted your feedback on the staffing levels and assure you that our Human Resource department is looking in to every aspect highlighted. Our Executive Chef would also be more than willing to meet you on your next visit on the issue of our menus, you can also kindly contact him directly on rcournede@windsor.co.ke

We also want to assure you that our Wi-Fi signal is as strong in the rooms as it is at the lobby. If you checked, we have different signals all over the hotel to ensure that every area is well covered. All you need to do is choose the strongest signal from whichever location and use your log-in details as provided upon check in.

Kindly feel free to contact me directly on guestrelations@windsor.co.ke.

Thanks and kind regards,

Esther Kung'u,
Guest Relations Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for a company strategy meeting. On the face of it, a splendid looking hotel, but in reality a bit average. There were no disasters, but lots of niggles. From the moment we stepped in there wasn't that nice warm feeling you get when a place is well run and comfortable. There was no pleasant greeting from the staff (they seemed distracted) and finding somebody to show us our rooms took longer than can reasonably be expected given that it wasn't too busy when we arrived. When we tried to get bar food close to closing time, we were given the clear message that, despite the bar food service still being open, that we were not very welcome. And so it went on. What ticked me off most though was the lady cleaning my room each day being rather unashamed of soliciting a tip.

The hotel seems to be run more for its golf course than for the people staying in the hotel. There is a jogging track, but no copy of the promised map was available (not even after four days of asking) and the signs on the jogging track seem to disappear after a few kilometres (or was it me being daft?). When we asked for the use of the bicycles, none was fit for riding.

This should be one of Kenya's best hotels, but it isn't.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimaniJames, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Grassy W.

Thank you for taking time to share your review on your recent stay at our hotel. We greatly appreciate any feedback made by our guests.

Kindly accept our unreserved apologies for the dissatisfaction about your stay with us. We apologize that your expectations were not met. We have noted your comments on some of our staff and I want to assure you that we have addressed these with the concerned head of departments.

I deeply regret your disappointment on the bikes and the jogging track. Our leisure department is working on the signs on the track to ensure they are easily visible to everyone; they are also in the process of purchasing a special form which will prevent punctures on the bikes.

Kindly feel free to contact me directly on guestrelations@windsor.co.ke.

We wish you all the best in your business and personal endeavors . We hope you can give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Thanks and Kind Regards,
Esther Kung'u,
Guest Relations Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just returned back from a weeks stay in Nairobi. Stayed at Windsor as my wife had to attend a friend's party nearby.The week overall was great and would give that 9/ 10, but the review is for the hotel and so give it 2/ 10

I thought everything about the Windsor experience was a joke... immediately at check in they probably had a few people checking in and maybe five people checking out, however they had only one person doing check-in's

One of our biggest disappointments was the pool area, planted in some sort of inner courtyard, too small, almost claustrophobic. To us the place just failed to feel inviting, apart from the fact that the very few sun loungers available were invariably taken first thing in the morning by the most eager sunbathers. We decided to give it a miss.

The whole place looks bland and dated, especially the rooms. Ours featured badly worn out 70s furniture, two flimsy single beds pushed together, and a TV set that would not work. There was no mini fridge to store drinks, a poor trick to encourage guests to get water from the restaurant

Service was generally ok, and even though many members of the staff really struggled with their English, most were friendly and helpful. Locals take over the bar Fri-Sunday and make impossible for you to get seats in bar, FOOD poor on a good day. the food was rubbish unless you like fish fingers and chips day and night.

For anyone thinking of taking young children DONT! the place is swarmed with wasps,mosquitoes and there is absolutely nothing to do but golf. If you want to sit by the pool for a week and do nothing then this place would be ideal it is totally secluded!

This is not a 5star hotel,feels more like a 2 star.

We will not be returning to this hotel

Room Tip: probably rooms on the upper floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have been to other Nairobi hotels and overall this was disappointing.

This hotel is not a 5*...not even close! After 45 mins in a queue just to get into our room after a long day wasn't a great start.The food was very poor, both in the restaurant and the snack bars around the pool.

The food was awful (I have never complained about food before so please don't tar me with a general complainer). The food served around the snack bar was the same every day and a sauce covered what was left in restaurant at night.

Room Tip: nothing about the rooms but the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as part of our office retreat. The spread out property with the golf course and natural surroundings makes for a great location. The rooms are ok and spread out, which can involve lots of walking too and fro. The gym is reasonable, though the pool is an apology. The service levels though are very poor - this is a major area to improve. 1-2 days stay is manageable, longer ones are best avoided.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimaniJames, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Cajithk,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club. Thank you for taking time to share your review.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. This, we believe is the most efficient way for us to constantly improve our services.

It is our pleasure to receive comments on areas of development. Our team is constantly monitoring and improving our facilities and services offered to all our guests.

Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to improve and continue their efforts to make the Windsor the hotel of choice.

We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future.

Thanks and Kind Regards,
Esther Kung'u,
Guest Relations Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floriana, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

An absolote rip-off. You pay all that money, and then they organise a wedding right next to your room, in the open air, so no one in the hotel can sleep. On asking the hotel if there is any time limit for this, 11, midnight, 1 am, they said 'no. It can go for much longer.' Visitors beware.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimaniJames, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear GiovanniB505,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club. We appreciate you taking time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Our efforts to improve the hotel are ongoing and we appreciate your honest feedback.

Our Events and banqueting manager in particular has taken note and is working on an enforceable cut off time for outdoor events.

Thank you once again for your review. We hope that you can give us another opportunity in the near future to serve you again and hopefully regain your trust.

Thanks and Kind Regards,
Esther Kung'u,
Guest Relations Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is a Kenyan 5 star hotel resort with a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking our spectacular 18-hole championship golf course, are tastefully decorated and have five-star amenities. With a 16-hour business center, free internet access in all rooms & free wifi in public areas, jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and even your family won’t miss a moment of excitement when you choose to stay/visit the Windsor. Our greatest asset is SPACE, an AWESOME AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.