We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible thrift” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Save Saved
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Floriana, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible thrift”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

An absolote rip-off. You pay all that money, and then they organise a wedding right next to your room, in the open air, so no one in the hotel can sleep. On asking the hotel if there is any time limit for this, 11, midnight, 1 am, they said 'no. It can go for much longer.' Visitors beware.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimaniJames, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear GiovanniB505,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club. We appreciate you taking time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Our efforts to improve the hotel are ongoing and we appreciate your honest feedback.

Our Events and banqueting manager in particular has taken note and is working on an enforceable cut off time for outdoor events.

Thank you once again for your review. We hope that you can give us another opportunity in the near future to serve you again and hopefully regain your trust.

Thanks and Kind Regards,
Esther Kung'u,
Guest Relations Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    45
    23
    14
    8
See reviews for
16
22
1
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here on a company retreat. The rooms are very spacious - more like a small suite than a hotel room. The hotel itself is rather charming - it feels like staying at a country lodge, complete with the wooden floors, Sherlock Holmes inspired library/bar and expansive grounds that you can explore. As other reviewers remarked, it lacks the finesse and attention to detail of a good 5 star hotel. Food is strictly ok, rooms are clean but a little "old", and service is adequate but no one will bend over backwards. A word of caution - Windsor is located quite far out of Nairobi city, and with Nairobi traffic, you will definitely not be able to travel around. The hotel itself has large grounds to walk around, if you're not a golfer, so think of it more as a retreat location than a city break. Overall adequate and charming, but not 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimaniJames, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear N S,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club. We appreciate you taking time to share your review.

We are happy that you appreciate the Victorian design in which the hotel is set and the spacious rooms. We have also noted your concern on the status of the rooms and want to assure you that the plan to renovate our rooms and the public areas is underway.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind observations and feedback as it will help us to improve our facilities and service to guests in order to achieve the highest level of service.

We look forward to hosting you again at the Windsor in the near future.

Thanks and Kind Regards,
Esther Kung'u,
Guest Relations Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is average on facilities but five star on price.its past its hey day and does require refurbishment.on arrival check in was fast,with a welcome drink .staff were courteous and friendly.i slept on room m 222 next to the hotel lobby after reading previous reviews prior to check in.the reason being that this was a biz trip and wifi signal strength is at peak next to the lobby.room was spacious,with a Victorian type furniture.spotlessly clean but carpet past it's sell by date. Breakfast andlunch lacked variety befitting 5star status.i did not play golf but the course was well kept.all in all there are other hotels with better value for same price.

Room Tip: Next to lobby if you want wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I wouldn't say this hotel was terrible, but it most certainly doesn't live up to it's name of being good, not even close.

I spent 2 nights here when my company put me here for a business trip. The whole building has a sort of run down but wiped with polish feel. Carpets are clearly very old, lots of stains where ever you look, but yet you could tell they are sweeped several times daily. The rest of the building shares this feel. It's like imagine having a very stained dirty shirt that you just washed. It's clean, but it's certainly not pleasant looking.

Front desk employees seemed helpful enough, though I never really needed to use their services. Most of the times they seemed bored out of their minds, perusing the internet or playing with their cellphones.

Now to my room. It was a gueen sized standard room. It was extremely small. 200 square feet or less... The toilet would barely flush!

Also, the noise in this place especially if you stay on the ground level is terrible, however, it didn't come from the other rooms; service personnel

Internet didn't work for me as well. They claimed free wireless and yea it was there, but it never worked steadily enough for me to do anything more than send an email here or there when I could get it to cooperate. Like some other people have said as well, the bed sheets are very thin, and like everything else, really ragged (despite being "clean")

All and all, I would not recommend this place, nor would I want to stay there again... it's one of the older hotels in the area, and it shows. Do yourself a favor and spend more money to stay at a nicer place.

Room Tip: stay away from the ground level if you really have to be accommodated here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Windsor is grossly overstated in many areas, and it does not have the character, which we associate with a luxury hotel. Began everything with a very dry check in. I as a guest had to say good day and have a surely response. They gave me instructions as in the prison. No please and no thank you. The rooms are average though, but the furnishing is very old. fans provided are a poor joke, they only make noises but dint cool the room!

The mattresses on the beds (double beds only by pushing the single beds possible) are very firm, and little sleep. Bathrobes were (contrary to our expectations) not in the room and had to be requested several times by telephone. In the bathroom the taps ran colored water. Couldn't believe my eyes. My spouse was extremely annoyed and we had to leave the hotel earlier than scheduled

breakfast rush hour at the Windsor's Main restaurant, absolutely over strained however, tried their best to be a friendly team showed full use in setting of tables but service, they had no time. The staff had their way through the restaurant without regard to the guests' service, in order to take account of the massive rush. There were a lot of helpless roaming guests, with full plates capacity to show through the restaurant crept. Very embarrassing for a special class of hotel.

A good golf course, friendly staff especially at the fitness center and an obsolete steam room. Probably a 2 or 3 star hotel

Room Tip: why not try other hotels in the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference over two days. Initial room allocated had no T.v signal and I had to debate with staff a few times before they agreed to move me. Food was a hit and miss affair - breakfast buffet sloppily presented with stale pastries throughout. The lunch meal (barbecue) was better, but for dinner at a la carte restaurant I was given a raw t-bone steak that left me with stomach problems.

Finally on checkout, my room key was disabled (I had asked for a slightly later checkout which they had agreed to) and despite four trips to reception they were unable to open my room - finally rescued by security supervisor who opened room with master key and I then just made my taxi pickup !!

Whilst staff were all friendly, they really seem unable to handle any issues that arise from time to time in running a hotel .

The main redeeming feature of this hotel is the superb grounds and spectacular golf course- if only the same attention to detail was applied to the accomodation and food ...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I attended a workshop and stayed in a standard room on the lobby level.

An awesome experience at first, breakfast always cheered me up with the assortment of fresh fruits, jams, pastries and juices. The service staff especially the banquet team,was nice and professional.

We however were uncomfortable with the meeting room assigned. Rainwater leaked causing spills to its carpets which soaked and produced an unpleasant smell. After reporting this, a few towels were placed on selected spots to blot off excess water and aerosols were sprayed periodically to alleviate the situation.


complimentary internet access was an added advantage but the snail pace ruined the gesture and purpose. Rooms far from the main building don't receive WiFi signal rather, you are provided with a plug in cable ( no consideration for tablet users).


We consulted with the concierge, and the manager suggested a safari for two of my colleagues and i. A visit to the rift valley and nakuru park was breathtaking and amazing. Our guide was so good and capable. His loyalty to us, revealed that we had actually paid three times the usual amount charged. back at the hotel we asked for a receipt and were told the transaction would appear on our hotel bill and well, it didn't.

On the last evening, we decided to chill out at the pool restaurant. Service was a hit or miss, loved the food! The atmosphere can be loud with lots of TVs often playing sports.

I worked out at the gym just before dinner, we were warmly received and hosted.

Check out was a walk on the moon. Bills were inaccurate, the cashier seemed bothered with our presence and took more than 20minutes to process me ( is this the industry practice?). After the long process, and as the hotel lacks an organized fleet of taxis, we had to stand outside in the cold as they arranged for the cabs which upon arrival appeared old and had severe cosmetic defects.......for a proclaimed 5 star hotel, this is outright reluctance! What happens to those guests who need to catch flights?? my advice, If you are time conscious rather make your own transfer arrangements and possibly commence the check out process, a night before

Room Tip: rooms closer to reception have wiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is a Kenyan 5 star hotel resort with a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking our spectacular 18-hole championship golf course, are tastefully decorated and have five-star amenities. With a 16-hour business center, free internet access in all rooms & free wifi in public areas, jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and even your family won’t miss a moment of excitement when you choose to stay/visit the Windsor. Our greatest asset is SPACE, an AWESOME AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.