We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Save Saved
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here recently for three nights for a friends wedding. Lovely setting overlooking the golf course. Very elegant lobby and restaurants, big wooden floors. Rooms spacious, big bathrooms.

Lovely warm swimming pool, although this got rather busy at weekends with children. So much room another pool would be an asset.

Lovely breakfast on the patio overlooking the golf course. Swimming watching the monkeys in the trees overlooking the pool.

Substantial grounds and lake. Excellent overall, would definitely come back.

Room Tip: We travelled here with 14 other people, all rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    42
    21
    12
    7
See reviews for
14
21
1
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very British, the architecture and the sorrounding, elegant looby and resturants, wooden floors, big bathrooms...I like the green around, the lakes and the birds..evenings are cool and calm.. if u r in a lesiure trip best for golfers.
An amazingly talanted singer cherished an evening while celebrating one friend s birthday.
Pool is warm but too warm for afternoon.
I wanted to go for a walk by lakeside but it look so deserted and I have to run back chasing by a monkey..but with bicycling or in group I think its perfect for a long run.
Rooms were not so quiet, u can hear people all the time..and the place is bit far for anythng around.
I was expecting to try some traditional kenyan food but couldn't find any

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were housed in the Windsor Park housing complex, which is part of the Windsor Park Hotel and Country Club for the last fifteen days of my contract in Kenya. When we first looked at the accommodation we were extremely impressed, but we subsequently learned that the house we were shown was the "show house" and whilst the one we were allocated was of the same design, that's where the similarity ended! Much of the equipment we had originally seen was not available when we arrived, including gas to cook with, a kettle and toaster amongst other things and it took five days for us to receive everything!
Furnishings were certainly considerably poorer than those we had been shown and we had problems with hot water (I had cold showers for five days), TV reception and other minor problems. We were also accused of having broken a window and a toilet seat, but this was amicably resolved following a meeting with the General Manager. Eating at the hotel is an experience as whilst it promises so much with the setting and the golf course, service is extremely slow and my advice, if you are going to eat there, is to allow at least an hour for your food to be served.
This facility has so much potential and we were told that the intention was that it be of the same standard as a five star hotel. It was also extremely noisy on Saturday nights when weddings were held at the venue, which disturbed our sleep well into the wee hours of the morning. As indicated the surroundings are very picturesque, the golf course is great, which would better suit those on a holiday rather than on business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The feel of the property is very British. Big golf course, and every room has a view of it. Very well built club house, and choices of food and beverage outlets. But that is about it. Service is very poor - you can order your food, and expect it in one hour. It happened to us more than often, and we thus settled for the buffet that they usually have. The place is best for those looking for solace, or perhaps part of a golfing tour, where hotel services are secondary.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in villas, as they are bigger. No AC in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a waste of a beautiful hotel in a stunning setting ... Stayed 4 nights in a large group, and before long we were all comparing unfavourable notes on the food and the service. We waited over an hour for food twice, once at the casual pool bar, and once in the upmarket Windsor Room, where to add insult to injury, all steaks were tough as old leather, and many were incorrectly cooked.

We had several experiences where multiple waiters (up to three) would stop at our table and try to take our order (which had already been taken). There was clearly a lack of training and "method" to the way things worked. Staff were friendly enough, especially when engaged or complemented, but it seemed that there was inadequate supervision or direction or training.

We also had several experiences where the food served was clearly not fresh, from stale bread rolls, to a cup of tea served in the room with a brown skin on top of it. My wife also had the joy of watching her food handler touching the pancakes he was preparing multiple times with his hands, to check for doneness, to fold them, and to pick them up and serve them.

One little golden gem in the midst of all this - the espresso coffees were outstanding. Every time. And the staff was very proud of their barista skills.

Hopefully management can respond to this kind of feedback, this was clearly not an isolated bad experience. The hotel could be so much more if the poor food and service are addressed ... and I am told that it used to be an all round 5 star place to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I've stayed in Nairobi four times in last 3 years and this was my first time in Winsor Golf Hotel and Country Club. For golfers, excellent. However, rooms are dated. Swimming pool area very nice with excellent bar/restaurant. I've seen some reviews stating that restaurant is very expensive and I have to disagree with them. Prices are very affordable and food was good. The service overall is not bad, but it could be better. The breakfast is buffete, but with not a lot of choices. There is a nice bike track within the compaund. I stayed only for two night and overall I was satisfied and would come again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was a First class hotel and golf course on the edge of Nairobi, public rooms were excellent the course was a very good test of golf. our room overlooked the 9th & 18th green and was spacious and convenient. The staff were very obliging and the Kenyan caddies were absolute gems and not expensive ,we gave them a good tip to supplement their 600 shilling wage( about £4) The food was good particularly on the golf terrace. The restaurants were fine but a little slow on service.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view but those on foyer level are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country
Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is a Kenyan 5 star hotel resort with a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking our spectacular 18-hole championship golf course, are tastefully decorated and have five-star amenities. With a 16-hour business center, free internet access in all rooms & free wifi in public areas, jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and even your family won’t miss a moment of excitement when you choose to stay/visit the Windsor. Our greatest asset is SPACE, an AWESOME AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HostelWorld so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.