We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing asset, but for patient people only!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing asset, but for patient people only!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The feel of the property is very British. Big golf course, and every room has a view of it. Very well built club house, and choices of food and beverage outlets. But that is about it. Service is very poor - you can order your food, and expect it in one hour. It happened to us more than often, and we thus settled for the buffet that they usually have. The place is best for those looking for solace, or perhaps part of a golfing tour, where hotel services are secondary.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in villas, as they are bigger. No AC in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    60
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
21
28
4
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a waste of a beautiful hotel in a stunning setting ... Stayed 4 nights in a large group, and before long we were all comparing unfavourable notes on the food and the service. We waited over an hour for food twice, once at the casual pool bar, and once in the upmarket Windsor Room, where to add insult to injury, all steaks were tough as old leather, and many were incorrectly cooked.

We had several experiences where multiple waiters (up to three) would stop at our table and try to take our order (which had already been taken). There was clearly a lack of training and "method" to the way things worked. Staff were friendly enough, especially when engaged or complemented, but it seemed that there was inadequate supervision or direction or training.

We also had several experiences where the food served was clearly not fresh, from stale bread rolls, to a cup of tea served in the room with a brown skin on top of it. My wife also had the joy of watching her food handler touching the pancakes he was preparing multiple times with his hands, to check for doneness, to fold them, and to pick them up and serve them.

One little golden gem in the midst of all this - the espresso coffees were outstanding. Every time. And the staff was very proud of their barista skills.

Hopefully management can respond to this kind of feedback, this was clearly not an isolated bad experience. The hotel could be so much more if the poor food and service are addressed ... and I am told that it used to be an all round 5 star place to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I've stayed in Nairobi four times in last 3 years and this was my first time in Winsor Golf Hotel and Country Club. For golfers, excellent. However, rooms are dated. Swimming pool area very nice with excellent bar/restaurant. I've seen some reviews stating that restaurant is very expensive and I have to disagree with them. Prices are very affordable and food was good. The service overall is not bad, but it could be better. The breakfast is buffete, but with not a lot of choices. There is a nice bike track within the compaund. I stayed only for two night and overall I was satisfied and would come again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was a First class hotel and golf course on the edge of Nairobi, public rooms were excellent the course was a very good test of golf. our room overlooked the 9th & 18th green and was spacious and convenient. The staff were very obliging and the Kenyan caddies were absolute gems and not expensive ,we gave them a good tip to supplement their 600 shilling wage( about £4) The food was good particularly on the golf terrace. The restaurants were fine but a little slow on service.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view but those on foyer level are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the hague
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have visited this hotel twice in February 2013. Although, I never stayed there, I have been in a restarants.
Restaruant by the pool is very expensive for what it offers. I ordered Ceasar salad with chicken which was so small (like a side dish) and the price was 1200KSHS (10 EUR). The waiter forgot to bring samosas, even though he was reminded.
Restaurant by the golf yard is also expensive and unprofessional. I ordered a browny for which I was told it was made this morning. However, it was so hard that my spoon would not go through. It tasted as one week old. I called the waitress and she said it was made this morning. I insisted to talking to the chef who admitted that it was made days ago. Considering above, I do not recommend this place.
This hotel is very old, and needs refurbishing in all areas inluding HR. Its greatest asset is a golf field.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Risskov, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very nice place - love it
All locations are beautiful and well-maintained
You feel at home and be spoiled by the lovely staff
A place I would choose again if the opportunity presents itself
Can highly recommend the place

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A very beautiful colonial style Hotel. We had our strategic conference at this hotel which was expertly handled by the staff. Conference facilities were good & the teas were also excellent.
The rooms were spacious and the decor appropriate for the hotel style. The taps could do with some refurbishment/ replacement since they are old, but this is a general problem with many hotels in Nairobi. It has a lovely view over the golf course with eagles & other birds landing on the course & surrounding dams. Overall it was good value for money & I would return again. Generally the staff at Kenyan hotels are very efficient & friendly. At the Windsor I feel that they are just not quite up to the standard (especially the waiters in the dining hall) one comes to expect. If you are patient then this is not really a problem. The food is at best average.The golf course is absolutely superb & definitely worth arranging a game. We hired clubs which were not too bad & the caddys were helpful & friendly. The hotel is a bit out of town but their are some good quality restaurants closeby - local knowledge is definitely an added bonus here.
Overal our experience was good with good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#12 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Safari Park Hotel
#34 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#8 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is Africa's leading Golf Resort having in it Kenya's best golf course. The resort is a mere 15 minutes drive from Nairobi's central business district and 45 minutes from the main airport. This Nairobi's leading 5 star golf hotel has a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising of twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking the spectacular 18-hole championship golf course. With a 16-hour business center, free wi-fi internet access in all rooms and public areas (for resident guests), jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and your family won’t miss a moment of excitement. Our greatest asset is SPACE, a SERENE AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.