We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Kenya
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Windsor the first week of this month. It does not disappoint this place. The service and attention to detail is impeccable. Loved my room, had turn down service and all the perks that comes with a hotel of this calibre.

The only downside, the breakfast was wanting in terms of both quality and service on day two with no cutlery on the tables, asking for coffee on several occasions and a very mediocre buffet for breakfast. The hotel was indeed quite full but that is not an excuse. It was however only on one morning and we do all have bad days every so often.

All in all, would love to come back and stay here even if its just for a night gateway with the hubby! :-)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    60
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
21
28
4
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
214 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Windsor is Kenya's first top class golf hotel and for guests staying for a conference, as I did, or on business or leisure, golfing is ever present.
For those NOT golfing there are plenty of walkways, jogging paths and a cycling circuit with excellent mountain bikes on hire for a half day, a day or the duration of one's stay. There is also a gym and a Spa, neither too big but according to development plans discussed with management during my stay due for a significant upgrade when the 'improvement package' is given the green light.
I stayed in a studio suite and it was worth it, though would have wished for the fire place to function as the nights at this time of year are COLD. The hotel mitigated this with an extra blanket though.
There is NO aircondition, something worth mentioning.
The hotel has well matured over the past decades since it was opened though the sparkle has dulled a little, and with all the new hotels in Nairobi competing, it is now only a matter of time, considering that the principal owners both passed on within months of each other, and waiting out the elections in Kenya, before a major investment is unleashed on the property, catapulting it to the top again. Well maintained, with everything working of course, that day will be much awaited by many fans of the Windsor though.
Breakfast, while varied, was a bit of a let down, made up by friendly staff ever ready to bring more tea, but again in comparison with the main competition in Nairobi's CBD or on Upper Hill, Westlands or along the airport highway, this too could do with a bit of innovation.
Overall a pleasant experience, certainly a conducive venue for a conference without the distraction of the downtown hustle and bustle and embedded in nature - now that is truly as good as it comes.

Room Tip: Opt for a top floor studio suite, which will provide sweeping views across the 18th, the approach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

All usual amenities including beauty salon with excellent massage, not on website. Can be noisy if there is an outside evening function. TV remote requires a phd to operate.
Beautiful grounds and nice walks for nonstop golfers. We

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants, Uk
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just returned from a short trip to Nairobi, first nights stay was at this establishment. It is a very pleasant establishment, huge grounds and golf course with some wonderful views across the grounds. The menu prices are similar to those of a high class UK hotel and the food is pretty good. Having only sampled the lunch menu and the breakfast I can't comment on the main meals. Staff are not so attentive, it can be awkward to get served and they are not the most sociable.
Rooms are all in the same 'olde world' colonial style as the rest of the hotel, very clean and comfortable and quiet. Some nature noise first thing in the morning from the birds.
For a golfer with time on their hands, I would suggest this is an excellent hotel, aside from that it is as good as anywhere to stop over for business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent and exclusive club & hotel. Absolutely amazing exprience. Great view, very friendly and attentive staff along with fantastic ambience. The Golf course's view is really good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bude cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have had two successive January golf breaks at the Windsor with my dear wife which speaks for itself but we may be biased as we love Kenya anyway having lived /worked there in the past . I enjoyed the 5* golf layout some memorable scenic holes /rounds and forgettable shots . I loved the course tough those it was but with a friendly caddy lining up my putts and the Sykes monkeys looking on so you do not forget you are inAfrica what more could you ask . The hotelside which is good alround standard unusual by its colonial style but with some great " Jambo " service thrown in ....clean rooms with a big comfy bed and a golf course view ...generous breakfast " al fresco " ....for us the poolside was the 19th with cold Tusker lager and a dip in the pool to cool off ....however we found pool area not so peaceful at weekends so we went off on safari the hotel was very helpful allowed us to keep our room . I can't wait escape the northern winter and land on the first tee again ! I should not be telling you this it was supposed to be a secret .

Room Tip: ...all rooms seem to be the same with same aspect
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My first hotel in kenia. Spacious room, nice poolbar, excellent breakfast, great runningtrack around the golfarea.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#12 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Safari Park Hotel
#34 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#8 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is Africa's leading Golf Resort having in it Kenya's best golf course. The resort is a mere 15 minutes drive from Nairobi's central business district and 45 minutes from the main airport. This Nairobi's leading 5 star golf hotel has a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising of twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking the spectacular 18-hole championship golf course. With a 16-hour business center, free wi-fi internet access in all rooms and public areas (for resident guests), jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and your family won’t miss a moment of excitement. Our greatest asset is SPACE, a SERENE AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.