We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for golfers, huge establishment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Save Saved
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Hants, Uk
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great for golfers, huge establishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just returned from a short trip to Nairobi, first nights stay was at this establishment. It is a very pleasant establishment, huge grounds and golf course with some wonderful views across the grounds. The menu prices are similar to those of a high class UK hotel and the food is pretty good. Having only sampled the lunch menu and the breakfast I can't comment on the main meals. Staff are not so attentive, it can be awkward to get served and they are not the most sociable.
Rooms are all in the same 'olde world' colonial style as the rest of the hotel, very clean and comfortable and quiet. Some nature noise first thing in the morning from the birds.
For a golfer with time on their hands, I would suggest this is an excellent hotel, aside from that it is as good as anywhere to stop over for business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    46
    25
    14
    10
See reviews for
17
24
1
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent and exclusive club & hotel. Absolutely amazing exprience. Great view, very friendly and attentive staff along with fantastic ambience. The Golf course's view is really good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bude cornwall
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have had two successive January golf breaks at the Windsor with my dear wife which speaks for itself but we may be biased as we love Kenya anyway having lived /worked there in the past . I enjoyed the 5* golf layout some memorable scenic holes /rounds and forgettable shots . I loved the course tough those it was but with a friendly caddy lining up my putts and the Sykes monkeys looking on so you do not forget you are inAfrica what more could you ask . The hotelside which is good alround standard unusual by its colonial style but with some great " Jambo " service thrown in ....clean rooms with a big comfy bed and a golf course view ...generous breakfast " al fresco " ....for us the poolside was the 19th with cold Tusker lager and a dip in the pool to cool off ....however we found pool area not so peaceful at weekends so we went off on safari the hotel was very helpful allowed us to keep our room . I can't wait escape the northern winter and land on the first tee again ! I should not be telling you this it was supposed to be a secret .

Room Tip: ...all rooms seem to be the same with same aspect
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My first hotel in kenia. Spacious room, nice poolbar, excellent breakfast, great runningtrack around the golfarea.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our stay here was just great. The rooms are a good size; beds very comfortable; staff are excellent; breakfast is great; good walking trails; sense of safety; nice to be in the country; pool area very friendly to adults and children; lots of little nooks to sit quietly; and we never even got a chance to golf! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time here and recommend it heartily. Transport was safely and easily arranged by very competent front staff.

This was my second stay here. The first was when I was travelling alone, however, the experience was also excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms all face out onto the golf course I think. Upper floor rooms are larger I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My first stop in Kenya was the Windsor Golf Hotel and country club. What a grand and exotic hotel and experience. The service was world class.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

It takes a member to invite you, but if you can swing it you're in for a fabulous golf experience at this challenging course carved out of mature forest, with natural water hazards, professional caddies guiding you round, and chattering monkies commenting on your swing. Catch a bite and a cool drink at the turn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is a Kenyan 5 star hotel resort with a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking our spectacular 18-hole championship golf course, are tastefully decorated and have five-star amenities. With a 16-hour business center, free internet access in all rooms & free wifi in public areas, jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and even your family won’t miss a moment of excitement when you choose to stay/visit the Windsor. Our greatest asset is SPACE, an AWESOME AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo and HostelWorld so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.