We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but some staff not knowledgeable or empowered” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Save Saved
You added Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place but some staff not knowledgeable or empowered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had a great time at this hotel. The staff were mostly excellent and very polite and helpful. They were very professional. Unfortunately a few appeared to be following some managers rules without due regard to making the clients feel welcome. We were at the terraces and after having snacks my wife and I decided to walk on the beautiful grounds. We approached the bridge near the golf course and saw the sign forbidding us from getting onto the course. We had no intention of violating this but were going to stand on the bridge. That's when we noticed a female guard approaching us in a way that showed she was about to arrest us or tackle us. We stopped in our tracks and retreated but felt very unwelcome. I'm sure she was obeying her boss but when a guest is paying so much money to be there, please don't make him feel like an intruder. It would be better to wait until a guest is on the golf course before sending the SWAT team. The hotel should send some of their staff on an all-expenses-paid trip to Serena Mombasa and learn firsthand what "customer Service" means. The man and woman in reservations had no idea what it cost for late checkout and after conflicting rates, they became borderline rude when I wanted to talk to the manager.
Other than those minor incidents the rooms were great (hope the water is no longer muddy though, and the shower drainage should be unclogged). The rest of the staff excellent, food superb and gym/spa top notch. We shall be back, I'm sure they will refine the service to 5 star levels.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    46
    23
    14
    8
See reviews for
16
22
1
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed that this hotel as it was the location for a family wedding. It is a beautiful setting quite a ways outside the downtown city (45min from the JK airport). It is truly a grand hotel - though the structure itself seems to be showing its age, the numerous staff are always working to keep it spotless. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained.

Rooms - There is no AC (not unusual), but you can get a nice breeze by opening the windows and all rooms have a standing oscellating fan. The beds are VERY hard. Though the staff tried to accomodate me with some foam pads, it was still quite uncomfortable. The room and bathroom are large, though be very cautious of the step off for the shower which is quite close to the toilet and sink (we stepped off the ledge a number of times). Towels are big and fluffy and the shower with the soft water is so refreshing.

Food - Breakfast is included in the room cost and served buffet style. We took lunch at the tables around the pool. Everything we tasted was quite good.

Amenities - My husband played quite a few holes of golf with a member and proclaimed the course to be in good condition and quite challenging with narrow fairways and tough bunkers. The pro shop was a bit of a joke with just a few shirts, clubs and trinkets for purchase. There is no other shop in the hotel. Though we did not use the pool, it was quite busy while we were there. I believe this club is quite popular with local members - moms and kids swimming while dads play golf. The WiFi is nearly non-existent; I had to use the computers (for a fee) in the business office and the connection was slow most times.

Staff - The staff is eager to please, though lacking in knowledge and resources. They all worked hard to keep everything clean and nice and they were very pleasant, but they seemed a little under-trained. The hotel was very nice to keep our extra luggage while we were away on safari and very efficient in arranging for transportation to the airport and explaining the timing and costs.

Excursions - If you want to do any outside activities, I would recommend doing your own research and booking. I asked the staff at the concierge desk about trips downtown or to Karen and the staff had to call an outside tour operator who didn't really have any organized excursions ... or prices. It all worked out well enough, but there should be some literature and/or tour operator information available for guests to consider.

Overall, I believe this hotel is more of a club for members first and a hotel for guests second. The amenities are very nice but the services for guests - gift shop, tours, internet, etc - are sorely inadequate. We did enjoy our stay and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi and Mombasa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

There are lots of things to love about this place. We went New Years Eve for a family wedding. The Kenyan Government did the unspeakable on the fireworks by banning them due to "security concerns". The hotel itself is a lovely setting but there were small things they need to improve on.

1. The receptionist was nice and friendly, but there needed to be more people helping on reception when it's busy! 0/5
2. The two miserable faces in the pro shop need to get another job, rather than dealing with customers.
3. Food prices bordered on robbery. The most expensive hotel I've stayed in at the coast was still around two thirds of the prices charged here.
4. Breakfast on New Years Day... Nice food, but the queues at the egg station would indicate the need for more service in that area. The room was terrible with a cold wind blowing through it... and only 10 seat tables (limited) available. Then a hotel staff member was just taking cutlery from the table for no apparent reason. He took the milk jug for my coffee and said he would get me fresh. It never reappeared.
5. My bed was a bit hard and uncomfortable... but that could just be me.
6. Water was a problem new years day. Our room there was hot water but no cold, a relative had cold water but no hot.
7. On Jan 1st we had a "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door. So they PHONED the room to see when they could come in and clean. Hey! We were there for 2 nights... so why call us in the morning and DISTURB us? It felt like the hotel was run for the benefit of the cleaning staff and not the guests.

Things to do....

It's expensive at 1000 shillings per person, but the bird walk is fun and informative.

Walk up to the start of the 10th Hole where there is a snack bar, to get a quiet drink away from the crowds.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

The hotel is in a lovely setting and has friendly staff. However, give it a miss if you want to work on the internet (it took two days before I was connected); and management believes that it's fine for the hotel to host raucous corporate parties that keep guests awake more than half the night as long as they slip a notice under your door advising that you won't get much sleep - and that they value your patronage. While not sleeping one can't make a cup of tea because none, and no kettle in the rooms. This place is not for me. Ken Harley

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is what you can living well. This hotel is in its own class so far.

The facilty is amazing and espcially now with the bypass at the door step?

Great Job Hon. Michuki and your family.

Room Tip: Any room you are good to go as long as you are at the Windsor. Just decide to enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Me and my wife have been for one night in this hotel in Nairobi last August during a one night stop in Kenya. The hotel is very nice but appear to be a bit dated. Probably from the time it has been built, no major changes has been done and to me it look a bit "old fashion". I have to say that the service is great, anything is clean and the room are very nice and big enough, even if again a bit dated. We had dinner in the restaurant of the hotel and we both appreciate the food and the service.

Room Tip: I'm not sure that all the rooms has a view on the golf course, in any case I would suggest to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimanijm, E-Commerce Co-ordinator at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for taking time to give us your feed back on this platform,
The Windsor Golf Hotel was opened in 1992 and the architecture adopted was the Victorian Style thus the look. We are grateful that you appreciate our services and food, our Chef is always working to prepare and present all variety of foods for our guests selection.
And for the sake of clarification, all our rooms over look the golf course.

We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I attended a conference at the hotel 13-15 Sept 2011. The hotel is located in a lovely setting. The hotel facilities are well maintained.
The bathrooms are spotlessly clean. The rooms are spacious and clean. Bedding is very heavy and not modern. The curtains are thick and not easy to close or open. The curtains also feel sticky. It was nice to walk out of your room into an outside passage, rather than a hotel passage. This brings you close to nature and you can enjoy the wonderful weather so much quicker and at any time.
The conference facility does not have the standard modern equipment you will find in other facilities today, but this does not hamper you from delivering an effective conference.
The staff at the reception is friendly and well trained. So is the cleaning staff.
The service at the breakfast and dining facilities are not up to standard.
1) the breakfast facility is not ideal: its to small, not enough seats, cramp dish-up space and tables are not cleared quick enough;
2) staff are slow to respond to service requests: it takes long to receive a cup of coffee on your table, to get a re-fill take time, to get a baked egg is slow and egg never comes as ordered;
3) staff does not understand an order;
4) staff is not always visible to respond to a request for service.

A lovely hotel, but service can improve.

Room Tip: Preferably a room rather that a cottage. The cottages are to far to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimanijm, E-Commerce Co-ordinator at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for your time to make your feedback known to us.
We are working to make our accommodation facilities more comfortable for all our guests.
We are also upgrading our conference facilities to meet our clients conferencing needs.

As for our service delivery we're working to ensure improved and effective service for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road, | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is a Kenyan 5 star hotel resort with a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking our spectacular 18-hole championship golf course, are tastefully decorated and have five-star amenities. With a 16-hour business center, free internet access in all rooms & free wifi in public areas, jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and even your family won’t miss a moment of excitement when you choose to stay/visit the Windsor. Our greatest asset is SPACE, an AWESOME AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and HostelWorld so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.