We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, somewhat dated rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jacaranda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Montgomery, VT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, somewhat dated rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Without question, the best feature of the Jacaranda is the location -- smack dab in the middle of Westlands and the many malls, restaurants, shops, and nightlife. The pace here is different than the chaos of centre city Nairobi -- still bustling, but the heartland for expats ands middle/upper-class Kenyans enjoying the creature comforts that you would find in most western countries. This convenience is a huge advantage for staying there (indeed, the back gate of the hotel grounds behind the restaurant opens directly to the Sarit Centre mall).

Construction was going on during my last stay there, and there were minor inconveniences associated with this -- hopefully the changes will be completed soon and will add to the hotel experience. There is a nice pool (unheated - something that those unfamiliar with Nairobi may be surprised to find out can often matter), a very nice fitness centre, and a pleasant central courtyard.

The rooms themselves are somewhat average -- medium sized, bathrooms that need to be updated, small twin beds in the double rooms, and reasonably comfortable seating.

The breakfast buffet is quiet extensive and tasty - but the restaurant's dinner choices are more limited and a bit pricier than they should be. But if you're in Westlands, there are so many great choices in the neighbourhood, there is no need to eat anything other than breakfast at your hotel. (I'd probably avoid the hotel's own "Pizza Garden" - the pizza and burgers weren't bad, but we found the other items we ordered pretty below average).

When we were there, WiFi access was available for more than $20 USD a day -- ouch! No excuse for not including it in the room rate.

The small, fairly standard hotel gift shop actually had some surprisingly great, reasonably priced handcrafted souvenir choices -- stuff you won't normally see at such a hotel shop. Nice.

If you're looking for a place to base yourself for a few nights in Westlands during a Nairobi stopover, this is probably your best choice. The ample opportunities for great food, great shopping and great nightlife more than make up for any downsides.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    70
    84
    29
    11
See reviews for
21
66
13
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Nice and friendly staff members, always trying to help. Okay hotel but the construction work will make it better i hope. Nice areas for shopping and the breakfast was okay too. The neighbourhood is a bit noisy, especially the streets. Internet use was free but had to be renewed daily, a minor irritant only. Nets provided in all the rooms, the ceiling fan was a bit creaky but better than nothing. I like the resturant opposite, it was an aunthentic slice of Nairobi life.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

The price increased a lot in the past months, reaching around 260 USDF per night.
Very well situated, in the centre of the city, safe environment, close to Sarit mall and Westgate mall, as well as lot of good restaurants.
Rooms are a bit old, but still okay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
194 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

This was the first hotel we stayed at in Kenya and was fine. Stayed in better, stayed in a lot, lot worse... in detail....
Check in was smooth, rooms are clean, mosquito nets came as standard. Heaps of security around the main entrance and wandering through at various times so you feel quite safe throughout.
Hotel has a pool.
While we were there extensive building work was going near the pool which I know affected other people in the hotel quite substantially, though we couldn't hear it from our room which was at the front. I was slightly concerned given other reviews on this site that the rooms at the front suffer from noise from a nearby club, we didn't experience any of that and had total silence in the evening though it was a Monday night so maybe generally quieter.
The one thing that really annoyed me here was the price of the food. 2 (very) small sandwiches and 2 bottles of beer came in at 2000 KSH - about £18 GBP. Completely unjustified for what it was. Tip here is to go over the road to the Pizza Garden (also owned by this hotel, apparently) where you get a lot more for your money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

A strange experience...Jacaranda has an excellent location, seriously walking distance to a really nice shopping centre, and good choice of restaurants around the hotel, including the hotels own Safari Cafe

Rooms are a bit behind, the beds are the hardest surface you can sleep on, apart from sleeping on the ground. But what makes staying here a truely great and wonderfull experience was the staff.

Amazingly kind, welcoming and careing, after an hour in the hotel it seemed as though all the staff knew every one in our group.

We only stayed 3 nights, but from second morning the cook at breakfast made a point of remembering our preferences.

Guests seems to be a mix of safari guests(like us) and business travellers.


All in all a very pleasent experience and would go back with out worries

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks and found it very pleasant. The staff is very friendly and the food is quite good. The location (Westlands) is also very nice, close to the Sarit Center and West Gate.

My only problem is that they were constructing an annex to the hotel which was making a lot of noise.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

Expensive and low value for money. No air-cond, no heater. How do they justify such high room rates? I had a room that faced the loud music which went on till 3-4 am. Asked for a change in room and they gave me one nx to kitchen. Thank goodness I read a past review which mentioned noisy kitchen. I asked for another change of room. The third room was quieter but construction noise started at 9 am. Staff at reception desk could do with a smile. Internet failed for a whole day.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tmuiruri, General Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Greetings from Jacaranda hotel Nairobi

We do apologise profusely about the renovations that have taken place within and outtside the hotel and yes some of the complains raised were real and indeed were beyond the control of the management, In certain areas we did input our issues with local authorities that resulted to get improvments, eg. Construction within the neighbourhood was controlled to ensure that it only too place during the day time Weekdays (mon to Fri) and Weekends upto Mid day this thus ensured that we had peace for all our guests,

We are now pleased to confirm that all construction works around and within the hotel is over,
and all guests are assured not only peace and quiet but also have access to our new look pool garden area complete with a New enlarged solar heated pool and better still a complete new Jacaranda Gym and Spa featuring 2010 edition of lift fitness equipment completed with highly professional instructors and promising a Total Fitness for you body mind and Soul.
The Jacaranda Spa is a devoted to enhancing your overall wellbeing through a variety of 30 professional servcies and with emphasis of Thalgo products from south Africa.

So why not come and see the rest of that short interruption all complimented by our excellent Service outlets at Safari Lounge and Cafe.

in the mean time we do apologise profusely to all those who we could not meet their service expectations.


Tonny Muiruri Mutungu
General manager
Tel; 2540204448713/7
Email; 254722518133
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacaranda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.