We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy arrival to Nairobi, pricey to eat there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jacaranda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Easy arrival to Nairobi, pricey to eat there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

This was the first hotel we stayed at in Kenya and was fine. Stayed in better, stayed in a lot, lot worse... in detail....
Check in was smooth, rooms are clean, mosquito nets came as standard. Heaps of security around the main entrance and wandering through at various times so you feel quite safe throughout.
Hotel has a pool.
While we were there extensive building work was going near the pool which I know affected other people in the hotel quite substantially, though we couldn't hear it from our room which was at the front. I was slightly concerned given other reviews on this site that the rooms at the front suffer from noise from a nearby club, we didn't experience any of that and had total silence in the evening though it was a Monday night so maybe generally quieter.
The one thing that really annoyed me here was the price of the food. 2 (very) small sandwiches and 2 bottles of beer came in at 2000 KSH - about £18 GBP. Completely unjustified for what it was. Tip here is to go over the road to the Pizza Garden (also owned by this hotel, apparently) where you get a lot more for your money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    68
    84
    28
    11
See reviews for
21
66
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

A strange experience...Jacaranda has an excellent location, seriously walking distance to a really nice shopping centre, and good choice of restaurants around the hotel, including the hotels own Safari Cafe

Rooms are a bit behind, the beds are the hardest surface you can sleep on, apart from sleeping on the ground. But what makes staying here a truely great and wonderfull experience was the staff.

Amazingly kind, welcoming and careing, after an hour in the hotel it seemed as though all the staff knew every one in our group.

We only stayed 3 nights, but from second morning the cook at breakfast made a point of remembering our preferences.

Guests seems to be a mix of safari guests(like us) and business travellers.


All in all a very pleasent experience and would go back with out worries

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks and found it very pleasant. The staff is very friendly and the food is quite good. The location (Westlands) is also very nice, close to the Sarit Center and West Gate.

My only problem is that they were constructing an annex to the hotel which was making a lot of noise.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

Expensive and low value for money. No air-cond, no heater. How do they justify such high room rates? I had a room that faced the loud music which went on till 3-4 am. Asked for a change in room and they gave me one nx to kitchen. Thank goodness I read a past review which mentioned noisy kitchen. I asked for another change of room. The third room was quieter but construction noise started at 9 am. Staff at reception desk could do with a smile. Internet failed for a whole day.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tmuiruri, General Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Greetings from Jacaranda hotel Nairobi

We do apologise profusely about the renovations that have taken place within and outtside the hotel and yes some of the complains raised were real and indeed were beyond the control of the management, In certain areas we did input our issues with local authorities that resulted to get improvments, eg. Construction within the neighbourhood was controlled to ensure that it only too place during the day time Weekdays (mon to Fri) and Weekends upto Mid day this thus ensured that we had peace for all our guests,

We are now pleased to confirm that all construction works around and within the hotel is over,
and all guests are assured not only peace and quiet but also have access to our new look pool garden area complete with a New enlarged solar heated pool and better still a complete new Jacaranda Gym and Spa featuring 2010 edition of lift fitness equipment completed with highly professional instructors and promising a Total Fitness for you body mind and Soul.
The Jacaranda Spa is a devoted to enhancing your overall wellbeing through a variety of 30 professional servcies and with emphasis of Thalgo products from south Africa.

So why not come and see the rest of that short interruption all complimented by our excellent Service outlets at Safari Lounge and Cafe.

in the mean time we do apologise profusely to all those who we could not meet their service expectations.


Tonny Muiruri Mutungu
General manager
Tel; 2540204448713/7
Email; 254722518133
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

I felt sorry for the staff who were clearly decent people but were put in a position to deal with disgruntled travellers like me who arrived to a construction zone around the hotel and in the grounds. My guess is that it will be fairly nice when it is all done, but in the meantime it is a last resort for one night kind of place. No A/C, inadequate lighting, a big old can of Raid! rounded it off. Oh, the location is poor and it takes forever to get downtown - unless of course you don't want to go downtown!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tmuiruri, General Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
Greetings from Jacaranda hotel Nairobi

We do apologise profusely about the renovations that have taken place within and outtside the hotel and yes some of the complains raised were real and indeed were beyond the control of the management, In certain areas we did input our issues with local authorities that resulted to get improvments, eg. Construction within the neighbourhood was controlled to ensure that it only too place during the day time Weekdays (mon to Fri) and Weekends upto Mid day this thus ensured that we had peace for all our guests,

We are now pleased to confirm that all construction works around and within the hotel is over,
and all guests are assured not only peace and quiet but also have access to our new look pool garden area complete with a New enlarged solar heated pool and better still a complete new Jacaranda Gym and Spa featuring 2010 edition of lift fitness equipment completed with highly professional instructors and promising a Total Fitness for you body mind and Soul.
The Jacaranda Spa is a devoted to enhancing your overall wellbeing through a variety of 30 professional servcies and with emphasis of Thalgo products from south Africa.

So why not come and see the rest of that short interruption all complimented by our excellent Service outlets at Safari Lounge and Cafe.

in the mean time we do apologise profusely to all those who we could not meet their service expectations.


Tonny Muiruri Mutungu
General manager
Tel; 2540204448713/7
Email; 254722518133
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taibon, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We needed a place to stay for the night after our trip from Dar Es Salaam and Jacaranda was the place with the most convinient location, we checked in pretty late so all we could do was sleep, we paid Ksh22,500 and got a receipt, guy who showed us to our room was pretty friendly and polite but horror was to get me in the morning. My boyfriend had to leave very early for work the next day so i stayed a little longer and left at check out time. The cashier woman i was to clear with before i checked out went to her booth, printed out a bill without one word to me and put it on the counter I looked at her to explain the bill that was Ksh 2,000 cheaper than what we paid the previous night and she said rudely to me..... 'you have to pay that!' I was so offended! i gave her my receipt and she asked to consult with her colleague. she then called me for my check out card and didnt offer any apologies!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

no pool.no apologies,not friendly,no discounts,no children play areas
average rooms

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Jovago.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacaranda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.