We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful; avoid at all costs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Jacaranda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
kunduku
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Dreadful; avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Dreadful hotel - worst we have stayed in 35 years of international travel across the world. Management could not have cared less; facilities non existant or broken; noisy; basic; ruined the end of our safari and our honeymoon. Food was undercooked and could have caused illness if eaten; avoid at all costs and do not believe anything they promise you - it will not happen.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    76
    90
    29
    11
See reviews for
21
70
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

We only stayed a night but that was too long . Staff were uninterested , rooms had no air con and for a hotel in Nairobi that means hot hot nights !! Food was worst that a motorway cafe . For me a poor ending to lovely holiday in Kenya.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

We were booked into the Jacaranda for two nights before starting a safari. It was basic, with hard beds, but was clean. The breakfast was poor and cold. The biggest problem was noise from a nightclub late at night followed my building works in the morning. Probably ok for one night but not for the start of a honeymoon

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Noise and poor food.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

What is the one thing you want when spending a one night stop over (safari) before a very early flight back to the UK (5am)... meal, drink early to bed and a good NIGHTS SLEEP!

They put us in rooms on the 1st floor... the music started at around 11 and just got louder and louder until it finally stoped at 4am. OK they offered to move us to another room at 3am - after we complained.

Why put us on the 1st floor if it is noisy... but to be honest there is no hiding from a pulsating beat at this volume. The management know about the problem... see 2007 entry and the fact that they could tell me when it would finish etc.

Everything else about the hotel is OK and staff are actually good but it is totally overshadowed if you have to get up at 5am with a migraine and face 15hour travelling.

Bottom line: DO NOT RISK THIS HOTEL if your intention is to get some sleep - You have been warned!

It is the the Virgin brochure as a Kenya Safari stop over but... you will get more sleep overnight in the airport lounge!

PS they didn't deliver one of the breakfasts we ordered but we were too stress out to eat anything anyway.

  • Liked — it had a good bed
  • Disliked — LOUD music all night
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

I stayed at the Jacaranda on a very regular basis during 2004. It's an excellent hotel, with friendly staff who care about their guests.

The food in both the restaurant and bar is of a very high quality, and reasonably priced.

The hotel is across the road from a large, modern shopping centre with a variety of stores (including gift shops, grocery stores, clothing, electrical, etc) and a large cinema showing US movies.

A good choice for your stay in Nairobi.

  • Liked — Quality of service and friendly welcome from staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2004, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

Our trekking group stayed at the Jacaranda for 3 nights during the middle of January -- a safe period after the political riots at the beginning of the month. As you can imagine, the typical high-season crowds were not there.

The staff was courteous and friendly, the rooms were clean with strong showers, the pool area and food were quite good -- especially the hot breakfast buffet.

In all, I am not aware of any complaints from the 18 of us, and for me, I appreciated the comforts of an oasis. The Pizza Garden was an unexpected find for pretty good pizza and beer. Best nearby restaurant, however, is Haandi, across the street for excellent Indian food (dinner only).

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

Disco music all night and construction work all day. Had one meal which took ages to arrive and spent most of the night in the smallest room! Not to be recommended.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Noise and food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacaranda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.