We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would avoid if possible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Jacaranda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Would avoid if possible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

We were booked into the Jacaranda for two nights before starting a safari. It was basic, with hard beds, but was clean. The breakfast was poor and cold. The biggest problem was noise from a nightclub late at night followed my building works in the morning. Probably ok for one night but not for the start of a honeymoon

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Noise and poor food.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    77
    94
    29
    11
See reviews for
21
71
13
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

What is the one thing you want when spending a one night stop over (safari) before a very early flight back to the UK (5am)... meal, drink early to bed and a good NIGHTS SLEEP!

They put us in rooms on the 1st floor... the music started at around 11 and just got louder and louder until it finally stoped at 4am. OK they offered to move us to another room at 3am - after we complained.

Why put us on the 1st floor if it is noisy... but to be honest there is no hiding from a pulsating beat at this volume. The management know about the problem... see 2007 entry and the fact that they could tell me when it would finish etc.

Everything else about the hotel is OK and staff are actually good but it is totally overshadowed if you have to get up at 5am with a migraine and face 15hour travelling.

Bottom line: DO NOT RISK THIS HOTEL if your intention is to get some sleep - You have been warned!

It is the the Virgin brochure as a Kenya Safari stop over but... you will get more sleep overnight in the airport lounge!

PS they didn't deliver one of the breakfasts we ordered but we were too stress out to eat anything anyway.

  • Liked — it had a good bed
  • Disliked — LOUD music all night
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

I stayed at the Jacaranda on a very regular basis during 2004. It's an excellent hotel, with friendly staff who care about their guests.

The food in both the restaurant and bar is of a very high quality, and reasonably priced.

The hotel is across the road from a large, modern shopping centre with a variety of stores (including gift shops, grocery stores, clothing, electrical, etc) and a large cinema showing US movies.

A good choice for your stay in Nairobi.

  • Liked — Quality of service and friendly welcome from staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2004, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

Our trekking group stayed at the Jacaranda for 3 nights during the middle of January -- a safe period after the political riots at the beginning of the month. As you can imagine, the typical high-season crowds were not there.

The staff was courteous and friendly, the rooms were clean with strong showers, the pool area and food were quite good -- especially the hot breakfast buffet.

In all, I am not aware of any complaints from the 18 of us, and for me, I appreciated the comforts of an oasis. The Pizza Garden was an unexpected find for pretty good pizza and beer. Best nearby restaurant, however, is Haandi, across the street for excellent Indian food (dinner only).

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

Disco music all night and construction work all day. Had one meal which took ages to arrive and spent most of the night in the smallest room! Not to be recommended.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Noise and food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for one night before setting out on our safari. After having just landed from a night flight with no sleep on board we were hoping for a bed but who checks out at 6 in the morning? Still there was plenty of tea and coffee and the Rhino Safaris rep took the time to do their welcome meeting etc etc. A room was soon available but we had gone past tired so thought we would make a day of it in Narobi. The hotel has a customer relations person who makes arrangements for you. We decided on the giraffe sanctary and she made the arrangements called one of the duty taxi drivers who took us and waited for us, well worth it.

The staff we encountered were all friendly and spoke fairly good English. Food was OK with no unwanted effects for us if you follow. The rooms have bottles of water in them and this was common place as you can't drink the water. Luggage was left here for a week as we went on safari and was stored securely.

As for reports of excessive noise we can't comment as we were asleep by 9pm we were so tired.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacaranda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.