We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good service but some problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Jacaranda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Really good service but some problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed one night. Slept well but woke up to a room that was way to warm. No AC. Opening windows? Nah... mosquitos outside. Stepped into the shower. That was like standing in a mild summerrain. Waterpressure low or showerhead not functional. So a normal 3 minuteshower took 10 minutes to get rid of shampoo in hair.
Breakfastbuffet quite good. Watery coffee. Brilliant service from staff.
So - ok for 1 night but dont expect a quick shower.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Lima,

We take this moment to thank you for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you, and are glad that our staff served you well.

We have taken note on the quality of coffee served to you and malfunctioning shower head and have involved the concerned parties to engage a system of ensuring consistent quality.

We have began various hotel upgrade projects geared towards a great guest experience. This includes the rooms, lighting, décor, amenities and public areas, and additionally installing air conditioners in all rooms in phases.

We would be delighted to keep in touch with you and let you know of the progress so that we may host you again in future,

with kind regards,

Daniel Muchai
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    77
    94
    29
    11
See reviews for
21
71
13
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirtz, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here our first night in Kenya, prior to our safari. The room was clean and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was exceptionally good. The best fresh fruit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Maureen,

We take this opportunity to thank you for the positive feedback noted in Tripadvisor. We do take all comments seriously with a view to making our guests' stay better, always.

We further write to express our appreciation for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you.

we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit,

with kind regards,

Daniel Muchai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

we stayed at the jacaranda both upon arrival and prior to departure from kenya for one night each time. we found the rooms to be adequate for our purposes. they were spotlessly clean, fair sized with comfortable beds and a decent shower. the outstanding feature of this hotel is the staff;
everyone went out of their way to make our stay the best possible. the only thing missing is an elevator.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is not three floors and half a mile from the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to write about your experience during your stay with us in December, 2013.
We are delighted to note that you found the hotel rooms to be adequate, clean, and decent, and outstanding staff.

Your comments on the restaurant food and drinks is important as it will enable us improve. We have always offered great food and service to each guest, and this being a single occurrence, we took note of your preference to prevent recurrence.

We assure you that we shall keep up the standards and hope to be of excellent service to you on your next visit,

with best regards,

Daniel Muchai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughty Ferry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed here for two weeks with work and loved it, so much so that I'm planning a safari to Kenya for next year and will book this as a stop over. Yes on the weekends it can be very loud outside but that's due to the stretch of pubs with outside music across the street, which, I must add, was a great evening and atmosphere.

Food was superb, staff were amazing, straight across from a small shopping mall and tourist market on the other side. Pizza garden across the road is worth a visit for the atmosphere too if you want to get away from the hotel.

Looking forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to review the jacaranda Hotel nairobi.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the loud environment, and that our food was superb and staff amazing.

we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit and assure you of our best attention and service,

with best regards,

Daniel Muchai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed here again - almost a year since my last visit - and if anything the hotel has become better. I can thoroughly recommend it - comfortable, excellent value for money, exemplary and friendly staff, and convenient for everything in Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to review the Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

We were glad to have been of service to you again and are happy to have made your stay even better than the last visit.

We look forward to more visits in future and assure you of our best attention and service, always,

with best regards,

Daniel Muchai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beveren, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Jacaranda hotel can be recommended for everyone needing to be in the Westlands
It is a well located clean hotel with very friendly staff .
The rooms, althogh lacking airconditioning offer the confort you need during a business trip
The restaurant is OK and the breakfast buffet is one of the better I had during my stays all over Africa.
During my stays I had following minus points
- the quality of the WIFI. even when I managed to connect to the hotel network, very often the internetconnection went out.
- mosquitoes in te room ( but there is no Malaria in Nairobi) . the electronic dispenser, although working, wasn't able to keep the mosquitos out

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We wish to take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to comment on your last stay with us. Indeed we do take seriously every guest feedback as it is the best way to measure our performance.
We are in the final stages of working out, among other projects, installation of airconditioning in our rooms, and the most reliable WiFi infrastracture currently in the market. We regret any inconvinience this may have caused to you and assure you again of our attention on the matters.
We are glad that you can recommend our hotel and do promise to keep our lead in food and friendly staff, always,

with best regards,

Daniel Muchai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This restaurant is apparently part of Jacaranda Hotels group and is located next to the hotel in Westlands. It is very spacious, has and indoor and outdoor part, bar with TVs for watching sports events (mainly), a children's playground. Unfortunately, their pizza was awful, not tasty at all, very dry, the one with tuna only had a very, very distant hint of this ingredient, and the one with four kinds of cheese was terribly spicy and it was unbearable to eat it. On the plus side, they had a very nice band playing, and it seems they have this band every Friday. The musicians made very nice atmosphere, there was space for dancing. Loud music makes in impossible to talk, but all in all it was a nice evening, pity the food was not up to this level. But, they have some meat dishes, grilled vegetables, and also some kind of African buffet during the day (Monday - Friday). If you go, go for music, not for pizza.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacaranda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.