We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting even better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Jacaranda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Getting even better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed here again - almost a year since my last visit - and if anything the hotel has become better. I can thoroughly recommend it - comfortable, excellent value for money, exemplary and friendly staff, and convenient for everything in Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to review the Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

We were glad to have been of service to you again and are happy to have made your stay even better than the last visit.

We look forward to more visits in future and assure you of our best attention and service, always,

with best regards,

Daniel Muchai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    77
    94
    29
    11
See reviews for
21
71
13
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beveren, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Jacaranda hotel can be recommended for everyone needing to be in the Westlands
It is a well located clean hotel with very friendly staff .
The rooms, althogh lacking airconditioning offer the confort you need during a business trip
The restaurant is OK and the breakfast buffet is one of the better I had during my stays all over Africa.
During my stays I had following minus points
- the quality of the WIFI. even when I managed to connect to the hotel network, very often the internetconnection went out.
- mosquitoes in te room ( but there is no Malaria in Nairobi) . the electronic dispenser, although working, wasn't able to keep the mosquitos out

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We wish to take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to comment on your last stay with us. Indeed we do take seriously every guest feedback as it is the best way to measure our performance.
We are in the final stages of working out, among other projects, installation of airconditioning in our rooms, and the most reliable WiFi infrastracture currently in the market. We regret any inconvinience this may have caused to you and assure you again of our attention on the matters.
We are glad that you can recommend our hotel and do promise to keep our lead in food and friendly staff, always,

with best regards,

Daniel Muchai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This restaurant is apparently part of Jacaranda Hotels group and is located next to the hotel in Westlands. It is very spacious, has and indoor and outdoor part, bar with TVs for watching sports events (mainly), a children's playground. Unfortunately, their pizza was awful, not tasty at all, very dry, the one with tuna only had a very, very distant hint of this ingredient, and the one with four kinds of cheese was terribly spicy and it was unbearable to eat it. On the plus side, they had a very nice band playing, and it seems they have this band every Friday. The musicians made very nice atmosphere, there was space for dancing. Loud music makes in impossible to talk, but all in all it was a nice evening, pity the food was not up to this level. But, they have some meat dishes, grilled vegetables, and also some kind of African buffet during the day (Monday - Friday). If you go, go for music, not for pizza.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

December 2013. We stayed there for a night.Good spot if you are planning to pass on the traffic. Next morning we started our trip to masai mara etc. Nothing great but close to a souvenir market. I guess it's a good choice if you want to skip Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay at the Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

We further thank you for choosing to stay at the jacaranda Hotel on the eve of your trip to the Masaai Mara.
We were glad to be of service to you and assure you of our best attention, and service, in future,

with best regards,

Daniel Muchai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The food is awesome, the service is great and the staff are really friendly.

The place is quiet and you can't believe that you're in the middle of a busy area in westlands.

Love the fries. I will come back for those.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Jacaranda hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed our food, staff, and to have been of great service to you in our quiet amid the busy Westlands environment.

Feel welcome again to savour our sumptuous fries, and more,

with best regards,

Daniel Muchai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Jacaranda Hotel is just ok. If it wasn't for the free wi-fi not sure how I would have made it through. :) The location is great considering is not far from a main shopping area, but the room could be a little brighter. The staff is excellent, rooms are clean, and the breakfast buffet has several options. If you're looking to eat there for dinner, I would suggest eating outside the hotel. I was in a group of 7 and it took over an hour for us to get our food which consisted of lentils, chicken, and other what I would consider, fast to cook items.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Greetings Akiliah,

Thank you for taking time to comment about Jacaranda hotel. We have noted that the free WI-FI services made your stay even more comfortable. Thank you. We have also noted that it took exceptionally long for your food to be served for your group of 17. This service delivery issue has been brought to the attention of the hotel management and is greatly appreciated. Both the Kitchen and the restaurant staff have been briefed on the same. As a hotel , we shall ensure that all the staff are continuously trained, with a view of providing great service to all our guests.

We assure you of our good service and attention at all times.

Thank you.

Sales and Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is okay if you're only staying for 1-2 nights. The sink in our room was clogged, we let the front desk know & it was fixed right away. I think the shower curtain needs to be changed every so often. I give them credit for their breakfast buffet & friendly staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you choosing to stay with us at Jacaranda Hotel, Nairobi. We really appreciate the good compliments about our breakfast selection and the positive comments about our staff.

Assuring you of our best service and attention at all times.

Kind regards,

Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacaranda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.