We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable hotel -fairly central with conference facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Jacaranda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“comfortable hotel -fairly central with conference facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed here to attend a conference. The hotel has nice gardens and a pleasant atmostphere. The gym and the pool are a bonus. I would happily use this hotel again the next time I visit Nairobi - either on business or holiday

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Cathy,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I am glad to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay. Indeed our large gardens, swimming pool and gym are just a few of our strengths that enable us meet our guests’ expectations.

We would be delighted to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    82
    99
    29
    11
See reviews for
22
73
14
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is as laidback as can be. Not ideal for the fast paced business traveller. However, Jacaranda's restaurant has a lovely breakfast spread and a very active gym where locals frequent.The rooms are large but the lighting is very bad.The low lighting and the outdated bathrooms give you a slightly creepy feeling. Staff is extremely polite and helps arrange safaris and local sightseeing .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Shriyanka,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I have taken note of your comments with regard to our rooms’ lighting and bathroom. We have taken these very seriously as we are planning major renovations and upgrades, in our rooms and public areas. Currently, a sample room is on progress and is expected to be complete in the next 2 weeks.

As we progress, we would like to contact you with the progress of our upgrades so that you may give us an opportunity to host you again.

Best Regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was my first visit to Nairobi, so I haven't got much first hand experience with the convenience level of hotels in this city. The Jacaranda was disappointing with regard to the general level of comfort of the rooms: they are dark, not very big, very outdated bathroom, and don't feel entirely clean. Which is probably more down to the fact that everything is old, rather than the effort put into cleaning - service and maintenance all seemed fine. The pool area is lovely, nice little bar with a small terrace under the trees. Also the breakfast is great, good choices and high quality food. For a vacation this would all be fine, but I wouldn't recommend it to demanding business travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Lou2204,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I have taken note of your disappointment with regard to our rooms’ size, lighting and date. We have taken these very seriously as we are planning major renovations and upgrades, in our rooms and public areas. Currently, we have began replacing the beds and mattresses in all rooms and this will be complete in the next 2 weeks.

As we progress, we would like to contact you with the progress of our upgrades so that you may give us an opportunity to host you again.

Best Regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

4 nights here at Jacaranda was excellent and I enjoyed my short stay to the fullest. Service was good and staff is very helpful. Only negative point was the connection of wifi which is bit poor and drops most of the time. Though the room that I stayed so close to a road, didn't disturb me at all. Good hotel to recommend and airport is not far from the hotel either. Try not to travel during peak hours because you could stuck in for hours just like in Bangkok and Jakarta!!!

Room Tip: No comments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us to be excellent, and in particular the helpful staff and good service.

Your feedback on the wifi is helpful to enable us establish the root cause of the wifi dropping and ensure a continuously stable connection. Feel free to contact me on kevin.kimutai@jacarandahotels.com.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcome you back to Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

Best Regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stopped here twice. It's a nice hotel and is very relaxed. Not the highest class establishment ever but that's a good thing and it has a bit of charm. Breakfast certainly varied and good quality. Certainly very relaxing and the Pizza Garden, associated with the hotel, is good for a meal. Again, not the best food but cheap, simple and easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel’s food and service to be good.

In an effort to exceed our guests’ expectations, we are currently upgrading various aspects of the hotel including the rooms and restaurants; and your feedback is valuable to us as we improve.

I look forward to welcome you back to Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

Best Regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a good hotel but not outstanding. As in most places that I have stopped in in Kenya, the staff are excellent and very friendly. Dining in the Pizza Garden, which is part of the hotel but opposite, is highly recommended as the food is excellent and cheaper than in the main restaurant. You can get a host of other things other than pizza! Security seems to be a priority as all gates into the hotel are guarded and locked at all times.The food is generally very good and there is an outstanding choice at breakfast. There is a good shopping mall to the rear of the hotel which has goods at reasonable prices. However, the hotel itself has a good tourist shop. There is an excellent outside bar and well and an indoor lounge. The only down side seems to be that their rate is exchange is poor. I would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel’s location, staff, food and service to be good. We delight in meeting and exceeding each guest’s expectation.

Regarding the foreign exchange rates, our rates are applicable by guidelines issued by the Central Bank, and your feedback will enable us to be competitive in publishing our rates.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcome you back to Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

Best Regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Perhaps it was the location of my room, but my stay here was very noisy. This is a motel-style hotel and I had a metal staircase right outside my door. Late night arrivals and hotel staff kept clanking up and down the steps all through the night and early hours with the safari goers. As another reviewer noted, the beds are extremely hard, like a wooden plank, even with a 1" thick foam strip and cushioned bed topper. Between the noise and the bed, it was very hard to get a good nights rest! In addition, the cold water sink faucet didn't work and neither did the television sound. The internet did work fine, however.

The restaurant, however, was pretty good with a large selection of buffet items for breakfast and lunch and a pre-fixe menu for dinner. The lunch menu was interesting as it offered traditional Kenyan foods, and the locals who were there for a conference seemed to enjoy it. The garden was enjoyable; a little oasis amidst the hustle and bustle surrounding the hotel. The hotel is right across the street from the very good Sarit Centre mall.

Service at the hotel was very good and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the metal staircases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Quinlad24,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

I am glad to note that you found several aspects of the hotel to be good, particularly the service, helpful staff, and the restaurant, breakfast and lunch buffet, and the dinner menu.

We have noted your feedback regarding the noise next to stair cases and we are currently looking at ways to sound-proof the guest rooms, including double gazing of windows. In mid September 2013, the hotel invested in new and very comfortable beds and mattresses for all guest rooms. These have been proven to be some of the best and most comfortable mattresses in the hotel industry. I hope that on your next visit, you will find the beds to meet your expectations.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcome you back to Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi.

Best Regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacaranda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.