We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Centrally Located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jacaranda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Centrally Located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

I stayed at the Jacaranda on a very regular basis during 2004. It's an excellent hotel, with friendly staff who care about their guests.

The food in both the restaurant and bar is of a very high quality, and reasonably priced.

The hotel is across the road from a large, modern shopping centre with a variety of stores (including gift shops, grocery stores, clothing, electrical, etc) and a large cinema showing US movies.

A good choice for your stay in Nairobi.

  • Liked — Quality of service and friendly welcome from staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2004, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    70
    84
    29
    11
See reviews for
21
66
13
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

Our trekking group stayed at the Jacaranda for 3 nights during the middle of January -- a safe period after the political riots at the beginning of the month. As you can imagine, the typical high-season crowds were not there.

The staff was courteous and friendly, the rooms were clean with strong showers, the pool area and food were quite good -- especially the hot breakfast buffet.

In all, I am not aware of any complaints from the 18 of us, and for me, I appreciated the comforts of an oasis. The Pizza Garden was an unexpected find for pretty good pizza and beer. Best nearby restaurant, however, is Haandi, across the street for excellent Indian food (dinner only).

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

Disco music all night and construction work all day. Had one meal which took ages to arrive and spent most of the night in the smallest room! Not to be recommended.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Noise and food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for one night before setting out on our safari. After having just landed from a night flight with no sleep on board we were hoping for a bed but who checks out at 6 in the morning? Still there was plenty of tea and coffee and the Rhino Safaris rep took the time to do their welcome meeting etc etc. A room was soon available but we had gone past tired so thought we would make a day of it in Narobi. The hotel has a customer relations person who makes arrangements for you. We decided on the giraffe sanctary and she made the arrangements called one of the duty taxi drivers who took us and waited for us, well worth it.

The staff we encountered were all friendly and spoke fairly good English. Food was OK with no unwanted effects for us if you follow. The rooms have bottles of water in them and this was common place as you can't drink the water. Luggage was left here for a week as we went on safari and was stored securely.

As for reports of excessive noise we can't comment as we were asleep by 9pm we were so tired.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacaranda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.