We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel with Good staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Jacaranda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Ahmedabad
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel with Good staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just had an overnight stay at this Hotel. The Hotel has just basic facilities. Small rooms - may be because it is in the capital. Staff was good and helpful. We had good sleep and a great breakfast before pushing to airport for our flight to Joberg

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Borntraveller55,

Thank you for the feedback and taking time to review our hotel.

We are pleased to note that you had a good night’s rest and enjoyed your breakfast. In addition, our team is dedicated to provide professional, warm and helpful service.

Our rooms are well appointed and equipped to ensure an enjoyable stay. This includes : Tea and coffee making amenities, mini bar, hair dryer, and satellite TV. We are constantly improving on our products and services.

It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Kevin Kimutai
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    76
    89
    29
    11
See reviews for
21
69
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our first trip to Kenya and also African continent. My wife and I were tentative about what is in store for us. Reached hotel in afternoon. We were welcomed by a 'hot-towel' and a tasty juice. The warm feeling came down when we got a cold response at the reception. The warmth in the response remained the same through out our stay. We stayed on night. When we entered the room, were surprised not to find an air-conditioner, but later realized that we don't need one in many places in Kenya.

Room was clean so was the bathroom. Our bathroom didn't have an exhaust and so one can imagine how challenging it would have been.

There was a minibar in the room, but it was locked. We called the front desk five times but we didn't get anyone come over to the room to open it; so we gave up and walked to Safari Lounge. The folks in the Lounge were very welcoming, which was not the case with the Cafe folks.

The pool was small but OK to spend some time.
We felt the price of items in Gift Shop was way to high.
The signal quality in the television was not good, so it was not useful for us.

The place is surely getting old and needs attention.

This is surely not an obvious choice for the next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms having a view into the pool are are better than the garden view options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just like my experience with the Carnivore Restaurant, there is no wow factor in this Hotel. I was warned by the receptionist that the entertainment sector close by can cause noise, but unfortunately there was no rooms available facing the garden site. TV channel selection poor and half scrambled, as I only stayed one night I could not be bothered. A bonus is the mall close by but that is about it. I did not feel particular welcome and no one really seems to be bothered as staff looked 'tired'. Skipped the breakfast so no opinion here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

stayed here on business for 3 nights. very noisy - i think a niteclub was nearby but also there was no noiseproofing from the corridors. not very clean rooms either. breakie was nice though and if you're sick of omelettes at this stage there's a lot more to chose from. Mall behind the hotel (although nothing in it really) and a small market nearby. i wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Right now I M on a business trip in Kenya
B4 ariving a freind of mine sgsted me to stay @ Ole Sereni & I buked th same Hotel for 3 nights thru Mr. Rajiv Chadha of African Eden Ltd.
Ole Sereni was the best @ its price of $ 228 but the location was slightly awkward for me as I isolated so when I wanted to stay for a more night I rqsted Mr. Rajiv to sgst me a Hotel in the best locality
Rajiv sgsted me 2 stay @ westland area and recomended cpl of Hotels and finaly buked me @ Jacaranda @ $ 228 excusing that other Hotels he sgsted R ful or out of range
Wel I arived @ Jacaranda checked in and entered th room & found the Hotel has no elevator & no airconditioning in the rooms
I imediately called Rajiv who came to th hotel N explained that there R no Hotels avlbl which he sgsted and there R no gud choices fr me but to stay here
I said OK send me back to Ole Sereni
He said its a heavy trafic tym N it wil take me cpl of hours to reach Ole Sereni
I wish I had opted that cpl of hours and wud have stayed comfortably
I cud'nt sleep whole night as the temp in th room was not tht cold although th weather @ that night in Nairobi was gud
The hotel was not worth for th price I was charged
Half of th TV chanels wer not properly tuned out of not more than 16 chanels
Overall had very bad experience and wil never stay in any of Jacaranda hotels

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uganda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I spent three nights at Jacaranda and I was pleasantly suprised with the quality of customer care. It is however a little expensive but close to the Sarit Centre - A nice shooping mall. I was part of an Anti bribery conference and we held the conference in the Jacaranda Conference Centre. It is a great place for meetings and trainings too.

Room Tip: I recommend rooms over looking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Kaggwa,

Thank you very much for the feedback. We look forward to hosting you next time you are in Nairobi.

regards

James Chege
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Definitely not the best hotel in Nairobi and better avoided if you are staying for more than a night. However, if you are only crashing in Nbo for a night, its a good value. Breakfast is OK, rooms are very comfy and clean. However, especially friday an saturday nights, Jacaranda neighbourhoodnis very busy and noisy due to night clubs. Also, there are some meaningless spaces on the room door and bathroom windows which let the mosquitos in. I've stayed in Jacaranda 7-8 times and all were one night (5-6 hrs) stays.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacaranda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.