We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jacaranda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Value for Money?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just like my experience with the Carnivore Restaurant, there is no wow factor in this Hotel. I was warned by the receptionist that the entertainment sector close by can cause noise, but unfortunately there was no rooms available facing the garden site. TV channel selection poor and half scrambled, as I only stayed one night I could not be bothered. A bonus is the mall close by but that is about it. I did not feel particular welcome and no one really seems to be bothered as staff looked 'tired'. Skipped the breakfast so no opinion here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    72
    85
    28
    11
See reviews for
22
67
13
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

stayed here on business for 3 nights. very noisy - i think a niteclub was nearby but also there was no noiseproofing from the corridors. not very clean rooms either. breakie was nice though and if you're sick of omelettes at this stage there's a lot more to chose from. Mall behind the hotel (although nothing in it really) and a small market nearby. i wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Right now I M on a business trip in Kenya
B4 ariving a freind of mine sgsted me to stay @ Ole Sereni & I buked th same Hotel for 3 nights thru Mr. Rajiv Chadha of African Eden Ltd.
Ole Sereni was the best @ its price of $ 228 but the location was slightly awkward for me as I isolated so when I wanted to stay for a more night I rqsted Mr. Rajiv to sgst me a Hotel in the best locality
Rajiv sgsted me 2 stay @ westland area and recomended cpl of Hotels and finaly buked me @ Jacaranda @ $ 228 excusing that other Hotels he sgsted R ful or out of range
Wel I arived @ Jacaranda checked in and entered th room & found the Hotel has no elevator & no airconditioning in the rooms
I imediately called Rajiv who came to th hotel N explained that there R no Hotels avlbl which he sgsted and there R no gud choices fr me but to stay here
I said OK send me back to Ole Sereni
He said its a heavy trafic tym N it wil take me cpl of hours to reach Ole Sereni
I wish I had opted that cpl of hours and wud have stayed comfortably
I cud'nt sleep whole night as the temp in th room was not tht cold although th weather @ that night in Nairobi was gud
The hotel was not worth for th price I was charged
Half of th TV chanels wer not properly tuned out of not more than 16 chanels
Overall had very bad experience and wil never stay in any of Jacaranda hotels

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uganda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I spent three nights at Jacaranda and I was pleasantly suprised with the quality of customer care. It is however a little expensive but close to the Sarit Centre - A nice shooping mall. I was part of an Anti bribery conference and we held the conference in the Jacaranda Conference Centre. It is a great place for meetings and trainings too.

Room Tip: I recommend rooms over looking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Kaggwa,

Thank you very much for the feedback. We look forward to hosting you next time you are in Nairobi.

regards

James Chege
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Definitely not the best hotel in Nairobi and better avoided if you are staying for more than a night. However, if you are only crashing in Nbo for a night, its a good value. Breakfast is OK, rooms are very comfy and clean. However, especially friday an saturday nights, Jacaranda neighbourhoodnis very busy and noisy due to night clubs. Also, there are some meaningless spaces on the room door and bathroom windows which let the mosquitos in. I've stayed in Jacaranda 7-8 times and all were one night (5-6 hrs) stays.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I spent 6 nights here whilst in Nairobi and was glad to leave this hotel as it was unfriendly, noisy and expensive. The hotel appears to be set up for people who are staying overnight and going on safari who are part of a package and not those you are spending longer whether on business or a holiday and have booked independently. Apart from one barman at the poolside bar all staff appeared to be unfriendly and not wanting to be there and we did tip them every time. I found the most friendly people at the Jacaranda were the security team who always smiled and spoke unlike the hotel staff and without recieving tips. The rooms are ok but not great if staying try to get a room facing the pool/gardens as this is a bit quieter than the rooms facing the road and the noisy nightclub that goes on most nights. The rooms have large beds but are very hard and uncomfortable the bathroom is ok but shower curtain was dirty as it is to big for the bath. You do get complimentary bottled water in your room daily. Pool is ok but the sunbed cushions provided were filthy and needed a hot wash. The hotel charges high nightly rates for what can be said is 2/3 star hotel. If you like wine please save lots of money as its not cheap to buy and comes in a small glass unlike normal hotels and bars.
The positives of this hotel are the nice gardens, location of a shopping centre outside the hotel and the pizza garden located across the road, well worth visiting as food and drink is cheaper than the main hotel with better service. Breakfast was average and had plenty of a selection.
The hotel seriously needs updating as it still appears to be stuck in the 60s and 70s. Do look around before you book this hotel.

Room Tip: If you do stay here have a room that faces the garden and not the noisy nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed for one night in the hotel and used it more as a stop-over from Amboseli to Sweet Waters. The location is very good. There is also a mall just outside the hotel.
The breakfast was superb.
All in all, definitely recommended especially compared to other hotels in Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacaranda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.