We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for First Night in Kenya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Jacaranda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Bristol
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for First Night in Kenya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here for our first night in Kenya before going off on safari and would happily stay here again.

We had a nice evening meal sat on the terrace of the bar by the pool. The pool looked nice but we didn't have time to use it. Breakfast was very plentiful and well presented.

Our room was a standard room which was fine but we did have a problem with the toilet. We reported this to the reception who immediately sent someone to look at it. The guy quickly decided that he couldn't fix it so we were again immediately moved to another room just down the corridor. All very efficient

All in all a pleasant stay

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    76
    89
    29
    11
See reviews for
21
69
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Spent a night at the hotel with my wife and was impressed.

This iscertainly one of the cheaper hotels in Nairobi in its category and we were not disappointed. Its quite scenic for a hotel in the busy Westlands area and we enjoyed our short stay.

Didn't get to taste the dinner coz we were out partying but the breakfast was great, rooms were neat and clean..

Room Tip: Side facing away from Sarit Centre, the Mega shopping Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Booked this hotel through my office and got a special rate of 189 $ per night (usual rate was more than 250 $)!! If it was up to me, I wouldn’t have paid more than 89 for this hotel. The hotel is really out dated and is in need of serious renovation. The hotel has no lifts and since I was staying upstairs, my luggage had to be carried all the way up there!! The room was a good reflection of the general situation of the hotel and frankly it was quite depressing. The worst part was the malfunctioning shower in the bathroom that was never fixed despite several complaints to the reception/management.

The only good thing about the hotel is its location. It is in a safe neighborhood and Taxis are freely available outside the hotel. It is also right in front of a shopping center which is very convenient. Apart from this one factor, I could not find anything positive about the hotel. It is definitely way overpriced for the services offered, and I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed at this Hotel for two nights out of necessity as our preferred location was booked. We were charged a premium rate for their most basic room which had no hot water in the shower and the room was very noisy. We were shorted a couple of towels on day two which, on advising house-keeping took several hours to resolve. Upon check-out we had a polite conversation with the Hotel manager about these issues however he declined to modify our room charge in any way. We subsequently moved to the Fairview which is a much superior Hotel and less expensive.

Room Tip: Stay at the Fairview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Rooms have tea-making facilities and fan. Fairly basic. Bit noisey from electric unit in hotel grounds. Swimming pool ok. Handy for supermarket over the road if you need anything. Attached pizza Garden restaurant very good value and nice food. Breakfast was ok. Visited elephant orphanage and giraffe centre from here as time to kill. Neither were worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for a total of 5 nights (not consecutively, as we were using Nairobi as our stopover point between other destinations in Kenya). Another friend had booked our rooms in advance via a travel agency and we had also paid for all 5 nights upfront.

Pros: the location of the hotel is fairly central and was convenient for us; the morning breakfast was a good start to the day, the rooms were clean with comfortable beds

Cons: the hotel is fairly dated and doesn't look like it's had any refurbishment in a while; the service is rather poor (e.g. the front desk was often 'confused' and despite being able to 'see our booking and payment' in the system, in one instance, still couldn't give us a room; the cleaning service came in and took all our towels, but did nothing else and didn't even replace the towels); if you have a room with windows facing the main road you'll be able to hear the thumping beats of the club across the road.

Overall, it's an ok hotel to stay at for one night (or lots of one nights at a time), but there are better (we spent another night at a different hotel because this one was full and it was much nicer, but the same price).

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed here on first night of our arrival on our safari in Kenya. It is decent hotel, a bit old in construction. Rooms were nice, with comfortable bed and LCD TV. Bathroom was clean with a bath tub.
Seems quite popular with locals as well. It is only 3 floors high with no lift. They charge you for everything extra including swimming pool usage, gym usage etc. They have in house restaurant, pizzeria and room service is available. There is a small curio shop. We had breakfast and the breakfast spread was nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacaranda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.