We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dated, dark and dingy - but passable for one night!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Jacaranda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“dated, dark and dingy - but passable for one night!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed in the Jacaranda hotel for one night as we passed back through Nairobi as part of a safari package. The rooms are very dated, but clean and with a TV to catch up on news from home. The open communal hallways are very poorly lit, and reminded us of prison corridors. We didnt feel entirely safe.
Saying that, the bed was comfy and it was only for one night. A week here would really depress me. Especially in the shadow of the hotel next door, which looked AMAZING!
Saying that, the steak we had for dinner in the main restaurant was fabulous and the breakfast selection was great too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    86
    101
    29
    11
See reviews for
22
74
14
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is a pleasant hotel with well-appointed rooms. It is in a good location in terms of shopping areas nearby, within walking distance (during the day). The hotel is clean throughout. Breakfast is good - standard buffet in many ways but everything is quite edible.

One MAJOR issue with this hotel is the reception desk service. Requests are quickly forgotten, they don't seem to have the ability to multi-task (i.e. handle more than one request at a time). Simple questions seem to completely confound them. Meanwhile, the ladies are particularly rude, making derogatory comments in Swahili about what female guests are wearing, etc. I can't quite understand why the housekeeping staff and porters are so friendly and helpful, while the reception desk staff are so awful.

This experience ruined what was otherwise a very pleasant stay. Combined with the very high price, I would not recommend this hotel unless you didn't have other options.

Room Tip: All rooms are noisy given the proximity to major thoroughfares, and live music at the venue and near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
362 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is a hotel with a large number of rooms. When I stayed, there was one major international conference in town and several other smaller groups coming and going. Boutique hotel this is not.

Breakfast was the same throughout the entire period of my stay. Not bad but that is probably a metaphor for the hotel: like the breakfast, it satisfied you but do not expect anything more.

The upside of the hotel is that it's quite a complete hotel with restaurant, gym and spa.

The room is average.

I am not sure if this is the same for all the rooms but there was no airconditioning. There was a fan but the pull switch was broken and there was no attempt to fix that when I was there.

The wardrobe had one of those hotel-only hangers that was hung so high I had to stretch to hang my clothes. There was a pair of room slippers but it looked very well worn.

The bathroom was serviced erratically. You have to bring your own toothpaste. The shampoo and bathroom gel were sometimes short.

I stayed almost a week. Towards the end, the entire room was serviced very well. My table was tidied, name cards and papers were properly arranged.

Would I return here? It would depend on what I do next. Nairobi turns out to have one of the most horrific traffic jams on the planet. So I would suggest you choose a hotel near the location of your main activity.

As for transport, I recommend that you use the taxis offered by the hotel. They are checked for basic stuff such as insurance, licence and permits. They are also less likely to overcharge.

Room Tip: There are no elevators in the hotel. Choose a lower floor if climbing stairs is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The room was good and hotel staff very friendly and helpful. However the food on the restaurant was poor. The simple bar food appeared to be better

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Jacaranda staff are very pleasant and helpful. My twin room was large and airy. If it was warmer weather, the outdoor pool and cafe would have been great. The breakfast buffet was good. But, the room was not cheap. If you need to travel elsewhere in the city, the terrible traffic means you should stay as close as possible to your destination. Most importantly, the club next door was playing loud, thumping music until 4am most nights, which made it hard to sleep even with earplugs.

Room Tip: Stay away from the nightclubs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Little out of city centre, not in walking distance (we previously stayed in centre of Nairobi at the Stanley, much better location for us to explore).

Shopping Mall at back of hotel, convenient, but little noisy.

Restaurant little slow on service and a bit expensive, but typical hotel fair.

Room doors had large gaps, so a lot of noise from corridor, most of us (travelling with 8 people ) Woke up in night by staff sweeping corridors, early morning bin collection and other gusets coming and going.

Nice Swimming pool and central bar

Room Tip: Front seems quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuffolkUK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This was our second visit to Kenya and like last time the Jacaranda was our overnight accommodation in Nairobi. The hotel offers excellent facilities for the cost, spacious clean and comfortable rooms. Restaurant choice is good particularly the poolside and outside settings of two of the eating places. The Pizza Garden opposite the hotel and part of the company offers excellent value for money and the Sarit Shopping complex near the hotel also has good eating spots and supermarket etc to stock up on ' stuff'.
Some of the reviews mention noise issues however during our 5 nights (in total) stays this has never been an issue and we are light sleepers.
Check in was smooth given the number of people passing through the hotel 'in transit' and the staff were attentive and helpful - however the difference between the lodges and a city hotel is noticable but not significant.

Room Tip: I guess if noise is an issue ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacaranda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.