We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but noisy, not cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jacaranda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Jacaranda Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant but noisy, not cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Jacaranda staff are very pleasant and helpful. My twin room was large and airy. If it was warmer weather, the outdoor pool and cafe would have been great. The breakfast buffet was good. But, the room was not cheap. If you need to travel elsewhere in the city, the terrible traffic means you should stay as close as possible to your destination. Most importantly, the club next door was playing loud, thumping music until 4am most nights, which made it hard to sleep even with earplugs.

Room Tip: Stay away from the nightclubs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    77
    94
    29
    11
See reviews for
21
71
13
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Little out of city centre, not in walking distance (we previously stayed in centre of Nairobi at the Stanley, much better location for us to explore).

Shopping Mall at back of hotel, convenient, but little noisy.

Restaurant little slow on service and a bit expensive, but typical hotel fair.

Room doors had large gaps, so a lot of noise from corridor, most of us (travelling with 8 people ) Woke up in night by staff sweeping corridors, early morning bin collection and other gusets coming and going.

Nice Swimming pool and central bar

Room Tip: Front seems quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuffolkUK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This was our second visit to Kenya and like last time the Jacaranda was our overnight accommodation in Nairobi. The hotel offers excellent facilities for the cost, spacious clean and comfortable rooms. Restaurant choice is good particularly the poolside and outside settings of two of the eating places. The Pizza Garden opposite the hotel and part of the company offers excellent value for money and the Sarit Shopping complex near the hotel also has good eating spots and supermarket etc to stock up on ' stuff'.
Some of the reviews mention noise issues however during our 5 nights (in total) stays this has never been an issue and we are light sleepers.
Check in was smooth given the number of people passing through the hotel 'in transit' and the staff were attentive and helpful - however the difference between the lodges and a city hotel is noticable but not significant.

Room Tip: I guess if noise is an issue ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon, on an overnight transfer from Nairobi to Heathrow. It was the final night of our Virgin safari and this was the hotel they booked us in to. (There were quite a few other Virgin holiday makers here so I guess it is a hotel they regularly use. God knows why.)
On the plus side the room was good and the bed comfortable. Everything you could want. The bathroom was ok. Service was good and all the staff were polite and helpful.
However....
The food was not up to scratch and dinner was not included in our stay so we had to buy it ourselves and it was horrible. Dry fried chicken, bland pasta (penne with oil and aubergine) unbearably fishy fried fish, limp slices of cheese and a mint mousse that I'm sure was made with mint sauce. There was also a cat which pestered diners for some scraps of their food and when I shooed it away by waving my foot it lept up and scratched my leg!
8 hours after eating this meal I got a stomach bug. Not sure if this was due to the food but I'd been ok throughout my safari and stay in Zanzibar.
The quality of sleep was good- once the loud music from a nearby club stopped at around midnight.

I wish my honeymoon had ended on a high, but staying in this hotel it was not to be so!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The Jacaranda Hotel is located in the Westland section of Nairobi. It is about 15 to 20 min. from downtown (based on road conditions). The area is very busy but the hotel is on a small side street. The hotel is also some distance from any of the major sights in town. There is a large shopping center across the street but it is masked by a flower covered fence. Food at the hotel was good but on the expensive side. The garden contains a large pool and an outdoor bar. The room was good sized, clean, and well maintained. The staff offered a good level of service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecatu, Indonesia
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed for just 1 night here prior to going on safari. The best thing about this hotel is the garden restaurant. It is a delight and the high vaulted wooden ceiling is great. Food is good too.
Unfortunatly we didn't get a good nights sleep as there seemed to be a lot of both traffic noise and noisy guests along the corridor/balconys. As our room was over looking the hotel car park at the back, guests/workers? were going to their cars from very early in the morning(5am on) and it seems every car there is fited with a "beeper" when it is opened!!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near to the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

I was worried about staying here after reading reviews but i was pleasently surprised!

the area in nairobi is grubby and a little disheartening but thats nairobi! once inside the hotel you had no idea of the busy life going on around it, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were helpful and the food was good. i worried for nothing!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacaranda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.