We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly reliable safari operator” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunworld Safaris, Ltd - Private Day Tour

Sunworld Safaris, Ltd - Private Day Tour
Riverside Lane (PO Box 39094), Nairobi 00623, Kenya
020-4445 069680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 108 Activities in Nairobi
Attraction Details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Highly reliable safari operator”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our Sunworld Safaris Tour co-ordinator, Rebecca, contacted us immediately to inform that Jomo Kenyatta airport was engulfed in flames a day before we were due to arrive in Nairobi to prepare us in advance for the possible travel disruptions. We persisted on continuing with our journey regardless of the possible disruptions.

When we arrived in Dubai to catch the connecting flight to Nairobi, the airlines personnel told us that all flights into Jomo Kenyatta were cancelled due to the fire and were unable to provide us with any updates as to when flights would resume. Hence, we were stranded in Dubai without knowing when we would arrive in Nairobi. Sunworld was very responsible and kept us updated on the situation in Nairobi. They also tried contacting other airlines to find us alternative flights into Nairobi. We found their 24 hours hotline extremely helpful and we were able to contact them at all times even during the wee hours of the morning. We were very grateful for their assistance given the stress of being stranded in Dubai with no visibility of when the airport would reopen. We finally managed to make our way there after a 1 day delay when the airport reopened.

Upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted by the Sunworld gang at the airport and promptly transferred to a lovely boutique hotel. Due to the 1 day delay, Sunworld had to reschedule our original bookings and make alternative arrangements for us. The new plans were well organised and they took care of everything for us. We were very impressed with their professionalism, responsiveness and great planning abilities.

The only negative point that we would highlight is that our safari vehicle was old and badly maintained. Notwithstanding, we had a wonderful safari thanks to Rebecca and her team at Sunworld. We would highly recommend Sunworld Safaris.

We started our safari on 10 August 2013.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hire car”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We hired a Landcruiser from Sunworld for two weeks in January.

Car was enormous - a proper 9-seat safari vehicle with sunroof and safari hatch. Car was very well maintained and reliable, but is not modern, e.g. no air-conditioning. In a place like Kenya that's a good thing, as there's less parts to break.

Included was an extensive set of camping and cooking equipment - basically everything you need to be comfortable. Only warning is to leave the Kerosene lanterns in Nairobi - they spill on bumpy roads and make quite a mess. The included electric lanterns are more than sufficient.

Some minor damage to the back (my fault) was treated professionally on return - no attempt at overcharging and it was all resolved quickly and smoothly.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a little piece of heaven!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

wooooooow wow wooww loss of words!!! little Mara bush camp i suggest would be the only way to experience the Mara period!! was our second time and this trip was way better..from the welcome to the good bye was excellent. different experience completely!! the staff are heavenly well mannered and A CLASS service. the rooms breath taking very well done, bathroom facilities were better than hotels in Nairobi city (and we were in the wild.) the view from each camp facing the river which is packed with hippos really makes the experience better. especially at night as while you're asleep you really feel you're in the wild and its very safe.the game drives and guides fantastic fully equipped and knowledgeable.we had Gideon as our guide who was easy and a friendly, they made sure you get to see every thing and polite too.thanks to him we saw the a rare sighting of a leopard and cub playing. At night at the camp fire really had great bonding sessions with guests and staff too. mangers michela and nelson assistant manager was really friendly and took care of us well.
food was excellent the pastry chef was wow!! always had a little surprise for desserts LITTLE MARA BUSH CAMP definitely worth it!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The dreams safari!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We visited Kenya in October 2013. We hired a 9 seater Land Cruiser from Sunworld Safaris, which brought us from Nairobi to the Mara, and back.
Our driver, Mr. Mwendwa, was a very experienced offroader, an excellent guide in the game drive, and a good friend.
Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krefeld, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Safari and Game Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in the Mara Bush Camp with Sunworld Safaris for 4 nights and 5 days. James was our guide and more than that; a real mate. Thank you so much, James, you teached us a lot! We have seen so many different sceneries, an unbelievable number of beasts, game and birds. And luckily - or, just because you know better - mostly we first and could leave the place when others came to see. It was a great and unforgetable experience for us.
Our personal rating: 7 hearts!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunworld Safaris, Ltd - Private Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Sunworld Safaris, Ltd - Private Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunworld Safaris, Ltd - Private Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.