We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and drinks in a fun atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Havanna

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Havanna
Westlands road | Westlands Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 321 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Siaya, Nyanza, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and drinks in a fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

First of all, the environment here is pretty awesome. Very welcoming and comfortable, easy to spend a few relaxed hours with friends getting caught up, away from the hustle of Nairobi. The food is good, although I found it a bit tricky to know what to expect. Definitely recommend the fajitas, although if you're looking for something authentic, this may not be the best bet. Also, be understanding of the Kenyan culture and don't be afraid to ask for extra sauce/more drinks, the bill, etc. It's not poor service, it's cultural differences.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican Food / TexMex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Havanna is a bar / restaurant with a lively atmosphere in the front bar, and a cozy, perhaps romantic even, restaurant area in the back. The bar often has loud music, or live bands, but the restaurant area is well protected from it. They have a range of food, but I love the Fajita´s that come on a sizzling platter: Highly recommended, and the advantage, you can stay till very late!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“your typical pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Food was ok, service at par. It was a bit empty on a Sunday night. probably not the best time to visit this place. I was told that on Wed, Thu is packed with great atmosphere.
If you are walking there from your hotel you have to keep an eye on the shops as you can easily pass by this pub and not notice it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“little hidden secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

first of all its not as easy to locate this restaurant, not because its hidden, infact its just on the road. you would pass it by looking for something big and eyecatching, i guess thats whats good about it. going in you first see a pub but dont be quick to leave because theres a very nice little cosy lounge at the back. the smoking zone is upstairs so you have the choice. the lounge is so cosy and warm it was amazing. i will take pics next time.
now, about the food. out of this world, and if the chef reads this, dude you are absolutely amazing! if ever i had good chicken or steak, it has to be in Havanna. I could honestly say the cocktail juice was a little bit more sugary than expected but everything else is great. If you walk into havannah and pick their menu, expect it to taste as good as it reads!! Happy eating lol!!
this has now become my favourite joint in westlands. after eating you can just hang out there you dont have to go look for another place. i hope you like it as much as i do.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havanna also viewed

 

Been to Havanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havanna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;