We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manyatta Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Manyatta Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manyatta Backpackers
Milimani Road | Nairobi, Kenya, Nairobi 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I backpacked through East Africa for two months and Manyatta Backpackers was my transition, go to place. I started calling it my home away from home and with good reason too! The owner and staff are really nice. I always felt welcomed, safe, and comfortable!

You get a free breakfast when you stay there, which was always yummy. They even have free Wifi, which is rare. It is communal bathrooms (single stalls). Sometimes the water wasn't the warmest, but truly that is my only complaint.

It is also not to far away from downtown Nairobi. I always walked from the hostel and it took maybe 10 minutes.

I also used the safari service to go to the Elephant Orphanage!

Room Tip: There is one room in the hostel that has it's own bathroom. I lucked out a couple of times and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thanks for staying at Manyatta Backpackers. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciated your business thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

You should go. Their space used to be Milimani backpackers. There's internet and beer and it's centrally located. Everyone is very nice and friendly and I reviews must be at least 200 characters. 5 more

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for staying at Manyatta Backpackers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Manyatta Backpackers is located in a safe area of Nairobi, near the State House. The property is fenced in and provides a small breakfast with your stay. Communal bathrooms (not a lot of hot water for showers) and clean bunk rooms. Friendly and helpful staff, cheap and easy to access nearby restaurants and downtown.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manyatta Backpa... S, Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your response. We have noted your concern on breakfast and made adjustments to it. On the hot water, we use instant water heaters and depending on the pressure at times the water doesn't heat properly. We shall be making all our guests aware of how to turn the water to the correct pressure to be able to enjoy the warm showers.

Thank you for staying at Manyatta Backpackers, we welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have stayed at Manyatta Backpackers twice now and the second time only got better. (The fridge happened to be not working during my first stay). They have an on site kitchen that you are able to order chips/fries, burgers, or fish from as well as breakfast in the morning (which is minimal, but included). There was a good selection of cold water, beer, and soda. The place was no-frills but had everything you needed. The bathroom was communal, but had nice toilets with working plumbing, solo showers, and never had an issue with water. They also have a nice common room with free wifi (which is good when there aren't too many people on it at once) and a TV with satellite. It felt very safe and they had a locked gate and night watchman. It's about a 10-15 minute walk from the city centre down Kenyatta Ave. The beds were decent and I was sharing a room with friends, so my sleep was fine. The owner and staff are extremely helpful and friendly - I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about Manyatta's! I traveled with a group of friends throughout Kenya and we'd return to Nairobi a number of times and each time, we stayed at Manyatta's. Such wonderful hospitality and warmth from every single person that works there!

The rooms are nice and clean. The beds the most comfortable I slept on in Africa! So awesome. And the rooms (especially the communal area) is just decorated so brightly and beautifully. Campire outside was also great for getting to know the other travelers staying at the hostel.

Short walk to Uhuru Park and the city centre.

Love, love, love Manyatta's!! Our home in Nairobi!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Having spent two months traveling around East Africa, I had quite the task of finding a place to stay each night. In my time in all of Kenya, Uganda, and Rwanda, I never found a place as welcoming, fun, and incredibly safe as Manyatta Backpackers. Located within walking distance of downtown Nairobi, you are given breakfast, WIFI, warm showers, and running toilets (something you will rarely find in most hostels) in the area. The wonderful people that own the hostel genuinely want to make the most of your stay and will go out of their way to make anyone feel comfortable. I couldn't possibly rave enough about this establishment. You won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manyattabackpackers, Owner at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and appreciate your comments. We hope to see you back next time you visit Kenya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manyatta Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manyatta Backpackers

Address: Milimani Road | Nairobi, Kenya, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manyatta Backpackers is located on the serene leafy suburbs of Milimani only 30 minutes from JKIA, 15 minutes from the City Centre and 5 minutes walk from State House. We offer bed and breakfast to backpackers.We have a capacity to hold 30 people within the house. Our rooms comprise of Single, Double, Dual, 4 persons dorm, 6 persons dorm, with shared washrooms and 8 persons dorm which has it own wash room. We have a common comfortable sitting room and dining area. Outside the house there is a Restaurant which serves freshly prepared food, with an open fire place to keep warm on cold nights and a bar which serves a variety of alcoholic, and non alcoholic drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Manyatta Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manyatta Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.