We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great flavour, small portions ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Garden

Emerald Garden
United Nations Avenue | Gigiri, Nairobi, Kenya
254 711 222 222
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great flavour, small portions ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The setting and ambiance here is amazing. The staff are friendly and knowledgable most of the time. They are forgiven for their shortcomings because they are still very polite.

We ended up eating 2 appetizers and 4 main courses because there just wasn't enough meat in the main courses. This isn't typical and generally 1-2 appetizers and 2 main courses suffice.

The flavours are quite authentic and will go back, maybe just not when I'm really hungry!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“The food keeps improving but poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My 4th of 5th visit to Emerald Garden, I think the food just keeps getting better and the portion sizes have increased. The spring rolls are the best we have had in Kenya, both the chicken and the veg. The pickles / sauces on the table are great. Delicious fragrant Red & Green Thai curries and creative rice dishes. The only issue is that the food took a long time to be served and service generally needs improving.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Heard lots about this place from friends e.g. nice atmosphere but food not that good. Decided to try it out with friends.
The ambience was really good, the service was fantastic and the food was surprisingly really tasty! From what we had heard, we were expecting it to be mediocre, but we were pleasantly surprised. We had the spicy papaya salad, red duck curry with jasmine rice and some fried fish dish, can't remember exactly. The desserts didn't look all that appealing, so decided to skip that.
It was a bit chilly & rainy, and they had their tall heaters nearby which made it very cozy even though we were seated outdoors.
Would definitely go back and recommend this place to other people.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Thai Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Seven months old in Nairobi & this is the only place where Thai food is good specially their green mango salad. But having lived in Thailand many moons ago, service is confusing in this place. The staff specially their "so called" restaurant managers/supervisor are not welcoming.

Staff are fleeing from one table to another, on a quiet we e Kay lunch, raised my hand to attract service but not one out of the four waiters came until I said "excuse me". Asked for a saucer that did not come, then have to request for it a gain. Condiments of chilli, vinegar etc have to be requested for which normally is basic part of service.

Still looking for that dining experience where staff does not need to be asked, staff who will once in a while glance at dining clients just in case there might be a request for something...... In my experience with the restaurant industry, dining staff are trained to glance & be attentive t o customer needs without being obvious about it.

Sadly, there will be no more Emerald Garden visits for us. The search goes on.....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Been living in Nbo for two years and always neglected this place, probably because we live hundred meters from it, but truth said food is quiet good. My choice: the mango chicken, very good. The setting is ok with good environment.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Garden also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Emerald Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.