We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but very expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Garden

Emerald Garden
United Nations Avenue | Gigiri, Nairobi, Kenya
254 711 222 222
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food but very expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very good food and good atmosphere.We ordered dessert which was excellent.The service is okay.But the dishes are too expensive and less quantity.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    8
    16
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kannnapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Peaceful garden lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The food and service was absolutely fantastic!! I loved the ambiance. I also liked the surrounding shops and and overall location near the embassy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Quality authentic thai food....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A great new Thai restaurant close to the UN headquarters... Has lots of secure parking outside and very easy to find!

Beautiful atmosphere as soon as you enter the main doors. Staff are very attentive and know their stuff! We had a few drinks at the bar before as we waited for others to arrive, the bar is well stocked and has everything you should want. Beers coast 300ksh. Really nice bar actually!

Food was super tasty and well priced (considering location and quality) the mains range from 900 to 1,500ksh... The portions are generous and most important the flavor was superb! We actually ordered more at the end as we wanted to try other things on the menu and honestly could have kept going and going (greedy I know!!)

Over all a great new addition to Nairobi and I'm sure we will be heading back soon. Well done!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overall pleasant, but better Thai elsewhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Visited Emerald Garden for the first time last week.

The restaurant setting is beautiful and has a special atmosphere at night. The service is attentive and personal, without being overbearing. We were a big group of people with a set menu and the food was more than enough (the waiters were always ready to just dish more).

We had a good selection of various dishes. The food was fine, but I have had better Thai in Nairobi. Would recommend to visit at least once though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“road kill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we just ate at Emerald Garden and are not sick - yet. Been passing that complex since it opened and decided today to take my family for lunch. deliciously flavoured tomyam soup, but the chicken was tough, grissly and the worst cuts... something like you'd get in a stew at a roadside duka, not the chicken i'd expect in a 400/- bowl of soup... and there was some sort of rancid taste in the soup, whi...See more

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Garden also viewed

 

Been to Emerald Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.