We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but very expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Garden

Emerald Garden
United Nations Avenue | Gigiri, Nairobi, Kenya
254 711 222 222
Improve this listing
Ranked #236 of 419 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food but very expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very good food and good atmosphere.We ordered dessert which was excellent.The service is okay.But the dishes are too expensive and less quantity.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pooja p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kannnapolis
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful garden lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food and service was absolutely fantastic!! I loved the ambiance. I also liked the surrounding shops and and overall location near the embassy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aanthony2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quality authentic thai food....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A great new Thai restaurant close to the UN headquarters... Has lots of secure parking outside and very easy to find!

Beautiful atmosphere as soon as you enter the main doors. Staff are very attentive and know their stuff! We had a few drinks at the bar before as we waited for others to arrive, the bar is well stocked and has everything you should want. Beers coast 300ksh. Really nice bar actually!

Food was super tasty and well priced (considering location and quality) the mains range from 900 to 1,500ksh... The portions are generous and most important the flavor was superb! We actually ordered more at the end as we wanted to try other things on the menu and honestly could have kept going and going (greedy I know!!)

Over all a great new addition to Nairobi and I'm sure we will be heading back soon. Well done!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overall pleasant, but better Thai elsewhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Visited Emerald Garden for the first time last week.

The restaurant setting is beautiful and has a special atmosphere at night. The service is attentive and personal, without being overbearing. We were a big group of people with a set menu and the food was more than enough (the waiters were always ready to just dish more).

We had a good selection of various dishes. The food was fine, but I have had better Thai in Nairobi. Would recommend to visit at least once though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinK2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“road kill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we just ate at Emerald Garden and are not sick - yet. Been passing that complex since it opened and decided today to take my family for lunch. deliciously flavoured tomyam soup, but the chicken was tough, grissly and the worst cuts... something like you'd get in a stew at a roadside duka, not the chicken i'd expect in a 400/- bowl of soup... and there was some sort of rancid taste in the soup, whi...See more

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Garden also viewed

 

Been to Emerald Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing