We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality authentic thai food....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Garden

Emerald Garden
United Nations Avenue | Gigiri, Nairobi, Kenya
254 711 222 222
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 337 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Quality authentic thai food....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A great new Thai restaurant close to the UN headquarters... Has lots of secure parking outside and very easy to find!

Beautiful atmosphere as soon as you enter the main doors. Staff are very attentive and know their stuff! We had a few drinks at the bar before as we waited for others to arrive, the bar is well stocked and has everything you should want. Beers coast 300ksh. Really nice bar actually!

Food was super tasty and well priced (considering location and quality) the mains range from 900 to 1,500ksh... The portions are generous and most important the flavor was superb! We actually ordered more at the end as we wanted to try other things on the menu and honestly could have kept going and going (greedy I know!!)

Over all a great new addition to Nairobi and I'm sure we will be heading back soon. Well done!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Overall pleasant, but better Thai elsewhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Visited Emerald Garden for the first time last week.

The restaurant setting is beautiful and has a special atmosphere at night. The service is attentive and personal, without being overbearing. We were a big group of people with a set menu and the food was more than enough (the waiters were always ready to just dish more).

We had a good selection of various dishes. The food was fine, but I have had better Thai in Nairobi. Would recommend to visit at least once though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“road kill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we just ate at Emerald Garden and are not sick - yet. Been passing that complex since it opened and decided today to take my family for lunch. deliciously flavoured tomyam soup, but the chicken was tough, grissly and the worst cuts... something like you'd get in a stew at a roadside duka, not the chicken i'd expect in a 400/- bowl of soup... and there was some sort of rancid taste in the soup, whi...See more

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, strange atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The food was pretty good, although pricey, as all Thai food is in Nairobi. The ambiance is very corporate however - lights a little too bright, and feels very formal. The cheesy saxophone music being piped in on repeat does not help. Could do with warmer lighting and better soundtrack.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Emerald Garden is a new Thai restaurant and is owned by the same owners of the Bangkok Chinese restaurant (the best Chinese in Nairobi in my opinion) and they have two Thai chefs in the kitchen. From the outside this old Chinese building does not look very appealing but from the inside the setting and décor are both relaxing and elegant. We began with vegetable spring rolls, crispy prawn rolls, prawn cakes and beef satay, they were all delicious. For the main event we had barbecued duck red curry, prawn red curry, chicken massaman curry and beef green curry, the flavor and texture were excellent. We tried three of the desserts on the menu, the mango with sticky rice stood out as the winner. We found the forks to be somewhat uncomfortable to use, that was our only complaint. We enjoyed that you can have before or after dinner drinks in the bar area with comfy seating. Philip is an excellent host and we will certainly be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Garden also viewed

 

Been to Emerald Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.