We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad burgers, wonderful wings.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Gourmet Burgers

Urban Gourmet Burgers
Westage Mall | Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #211 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
1 review
“Bad burgers, wonderful wings.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Went there with my boyfriend, I ordered the two mini burgers, they were not very tasty. One was supposed to be spicy and it barely was. My boyfriend ordered their BBQ chicken wings and they were to die for! I ended up eating half of his food. Next time I go there I know what to order.

Ps: Their mint pineade is HORRID!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

40% Recommend
    1
    3
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kigali, Rwanda
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“New, chic burger joint arrives in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the owners of the popular Art Caffe restaurants comes Urban Gourmet Burgers. Very city trendy, very upscale gritty URBAN provides a chalk board menu of outstanding burger combinations, including classic burgers as well as unique recipes (eg. French burger topped with melted blue cheese). Be sure to try the delicious fries (served with garlic mayonnaise or old fashion ketchup), lemonade with infused mint, or the popular iced lemon tea.

This new burger joint in Nairobi is drawing crowds, so you can plan to wait on stools inside before being seated at the al fresco dining. Located in the city's popular Westgate mall in Westlands, this is the hottest new dining experience in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“identity crisis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

loved the food, but weren't able to hear ourselves despite repeated requests from us and the table next to us to reduce the volume of the 14-22 year old rap music. looked around and everyone eating was well into their 30s many over 50...so they are marketing an atmosphere to an age group who can't afford a 750/- burger... and wont have me return (maybe for take away) because I don't want to pay 750/- to listen to rap... plus our waiter, who was very good, tried overly hard to talk american english in a cool accent that we of course couldn't hear over the rap music

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Perhaps with a bit of more experience, they have worked out the kinks in the system now. The staff were pleasant, quick and on task. The service was quick to order, received the food and to get the bill. I had the "Texas" burger which I enjoyed. Unfortunately the bacon was far from crispy, as it is described. I mentioned it to the manager that I do every much like my bacon crispy and would like it better that way next time. That minor and expected issue coupled with the high prices give it a 4 star. otherwise it was a great experience.

Few other notes of interest: They asked how I wanted the burger cooked. I ordered it medium and it came out perfect and juicy still. I read from another review that this was opened by the same guys as Art Cafe, shocking, since I HATE their burgers. Maybe they have gotten better. Also explains their pricing. Got vanilla ice cream at the end, quite good, not soft serve.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“poor experience...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Decided to visit this new restaurant as it looked good. Visited on Sunday afternoon when it was quite busy. Ordered a fish burger, but the wait was really long. So long in fact that the waitress got embarrassed and twice told me it was just coming. Very sadly when it arrived it was so salty it was practically inedible. Tried to discuss this with the waitress as I felt the management would like to know. The waitress appeared indifferent to my comments, so I very much doubt they were passed to the manager

So overall I wasn't impressed. I new place is sure to have teething problems, but there seems something badly wrong with the management of the place which I fear will inhibit it's success.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Gourmet Burgers also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya

Been to Urban Gourmet Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Gourmet Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.