We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Kempinski Spa is tops!!!! Great service at Cafe Villa Rosa.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chiromo Road, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
nairobi
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Kempinski Spa is tops!!!! Great service at Cafe Villa Rosa.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Visited the spa with a friend and was so impressed with the service, visited again giving my mum a birthday treat.
Booked the latter appointment with the help of Hausa, who was very friendly and answered each of my queries politely. The facilities at the spa are fantastic. From the jacuzzi, steam room to the sauna which one gets to enjoy with a spa date at Kempinski. They have a warm swimming pool which has an infinity-like feel as it overlooks the busy Chiromo road below........lovely.
There is a cafe/pool bar facility but was not operational at the time of my visits.
The staff are very professional and not overbearing in their presence around the spa. Prior to treatment a lovely lady Natalie gave a short consultation and led my mum to the treatment room. She went all out. The treatment as my mum said was lovely and I totally believe it, as the one I had a week earlier was tops.
They have a lovely relaxation area with lounge sleepers/beds and dim lights (can brighten them-one's preference)
The ladies room is very well set up with warm brown beige hues in the ambience and very clean. Each locker provides a fluffy bath sheet, robe, slippers, shower cap and there are many other amenities like lotions and even a dental kit!!! Pool area is also very clean and clean pool towels are provided.
Their fitness area is well equipped too though didn't have the pleasure of using the facility.
They use the Balcony bar menu i believe, for bites and the chicken wings were spiced to perfection. My friend also seemed to enjoy his spare ribs.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone.
Arrived at the Cafe Villa Rosa and was welcomed by a lovely hostess, Faith who showed us to our table and introduced us to the breakfast buffet.
Wide variety from a salad area, fantastic pastries and cereals, fresh juice-yup, had to check on that, and yes the orange juice was from freshly squeezed oranges.
They had meatballs, and they were very yummy. Sehrishi was at the egg and pancake station and boy can she whip a pancake. Had the best I've ever had for breakfast. I'd go back just for those pancakes. Kudos.
Waitstaff were great too, big thanks to Leah.
Considering the service we received and the buffet spread, I'd say it was worth every cent.
I'll also recommend this to anyone who cares to listen.
Good work.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear wanderlustciru,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comprehensive review on Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, with emphasis on Kempinski The Spa and Café Villa Rosa.
The Spa team and I are delighted to hear that you have been to the Spa on more than one occasion, and we hope to have you return for another treatment of your choice soon. Do keep posted on our monthly offers by referring to the Villa Rosa Kempinski Website – Spa Offers Section.
Glad to also read that you enjoyed Breakfast at Café Villa Rosa. Look forward to having you back for pancakes once again.
I will definitely pass on your gratitude to the team. We love it when our guests are happy.
Look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    21
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
12
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Room size quite small but all the mod cons cant complain. Lovely bathroom could do without the glass screen between the room and bathroom. Avoid the italian restaurant! head chef is very aggresive. When I told him my meal was not acceptable he was very aggresive although did change the dish and then watched over me eating it. Very uncomfortable experience. He needs to stick to the staple italian dishes rather than his own let down creations. Generally service is slow in Kenyan hotels.

Room Tip: Room service far better than the restaurants strangely enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear RashidAgadir_Morocco,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi and selecting the hotel as your preferred accommodation choice in the city.

It is unfortunate to read that you were not pleased with your dining experience at LUCCA. We apologize for this. We have addressed the issues with the chef and we do hope that you will return to have a memorable experience at LUCCA, it is one of the popular restaurants in the city.
In case I can support with future reservations at the hotel, please do contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed in many hotels in Nairobi since 25 years; up to now this is one of these hotels which surprised me pleasantly!
Let me start with a tip where the hotel building could improve on: Chiromo Rd is very noisy and there are no double windows installed in the rooms facing the road :(
Another tip: change the broken light bulbs illuminating the building soon (the top included) as as it gives the new building already a shabby look from the outside.
The food in the 3 restaurants is fantastic! From the Vila Rosa Cafe through the Lucca up to the Pan Asian 88! Hans (who is unfortunately leaving :( ) trained his staff to perfection!
Great is the service from reception to housekeeping, from the conference staff to the man and women who service the great meals.
Special thanks for those who made me feel at home: Kate, Betty, Daisy, Margaret, Cecilia and Jacqueline and to Steve, George, Samson, Shirag and of course Hans. See you soon!
Lex

Fortunately I will return another 4 to 5 times to this great hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are most probably quieter as rooms facing the main road are sooo noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Lex L,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Villa Rosa Kempinski.
My team and I are pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and service at the hotel and thought of Villa Rosa Kempinski to be a hotel that you can return too.
I have passed on your compliments to all team members.
In reference to your feedback on the rooms facing Chiromo Road, we have already embarked on a project to increase the double glaze strength which will support with eliminating any disturbance from vehicles moving on the road
The light bulbs that needed replacement on the exterior have already been exchanged for new ones.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity to host you in the near future, in case we can support with future reservations, please do let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

If you are travelling to Nairobi, don't look for any other hotel; just book and stay at Villa Rosa Kempinski. A five-star luxury hotel in the capital of Kenya with wonderful restaurants, spa, pool, fitness center and of course beautiful rooms... The staff is perfect and everybody tries to make you feel at home. And they do! Thank you Kempinski...

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room with a balcony. And try the new Italian restaurant, LUCCA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear sebnem d,
Thank you for your review on Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, we really appreciate your feedback.
It’s such a pleasure to read that you thought of the hotel as your home in Nairobi.
Please do let us know when you plan your next trip to the destination, we would love to host you at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Luca is the Italian Restaurant at the new Villa Rosa, Kempinski Hotel in Nairobi.

The service is good & fast when Chef Silvio is on duty. The one time we visited when he was off duty service was not as good & quality of food not s good.

Room Tip: When dining: Always check how long service will take for food ordered. Check bottles of water or d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear jgirl1604,
Thank for you taking the time to write a review on LUCCA and visiting the outlet for meals.
I have taken note of your concerns and will definitely address this with the food and beverage team.
We do hope that you will return to try out some more of the Italian delicacies that are on offer at LUCCA.
Look forward to hosting you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is truly a welcome change in the Nairobi scene. Nice hotel, great service, friendly staff. They offer valet service at no cost & their steak is out of this world. Try the Lucca restaurant for great Italian Delicacies.

Room Tip: Rooms facing back of hotel are quieter. Try their valet parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Mkenya1,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Villa Rosa Kempinski.
Happy to read that you were impressed with the hotel and found the service to be great and my colleagues to be friendly. At Villa Rosa Kempinski we would like for our guests to receive memorable experiences so that they would love to return to the hotel.
I will pass on your compliments to Chef Silvio on LUCCA restaurant and Deli, and we do hope that you will return soon to try out some more of his scrumptious cuisine.
In case we can support with future reservations, please do let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed at the hotel in May 2014 for 3 nights.
The experience starting from the hotel entry gate (security check- before checkin in) till the bell boy keeping luggage in the car after check out, it can be described by only one word "FABULOUS". SPA, hot tub jacuzzi, steam, sauna, you name it and they have it, not to forget, outdoor heated swimming pool as well.
During check-in, a refreshing welcome mocktail is given and will a thousand smiles.
I would definitely recommend any person going to Nairobi to stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on 8th and 9th floor, they are the executive floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Aneesh,
Thank you for your review on Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi. We appreciate the time you have taken to write this.
I am just so delighted to read that your experience was one that you feel cannot be matched.
We really do hope that you will be back to stay with us in the near future.
In case we can be of any assistance with future reservations, please do get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi

Address: Chiromo Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.