We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best carrot halwa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Benares - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Benares
Nirvana Towers, Nairobi, Kenya
3747364
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best carrot halwa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved the food here and their carrot halwa was to die for. The only problem was the place was quite empty with only two tables being served on Saturday for lunch

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zohreen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian fusion restaurant. Superb service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Excellent Indian fusion restaurant. Superb service. Huge portions. Party of about 6 and turned out we were the only guests on this night and the staff did not disappoint in service and food. Definitely recommend and look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet gem of an Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had dinner here once with friends, the place is very quiet, the food was amazing and I think quite reasonably priced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

While in Nairobi, this is the restaurant I am taken to for lunch every day! The food is really awesome, and I noticed the prices are not bad either. They have a good mix of Eastern and traditional dishes, as well as a good steak and chips! The portions are huge though, so I normally get a doggy bag.
The decor is not fancy, more on the functional side - but it is really clean, and the waitresses are really friendly. Good vibe during lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Benares also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing