We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best carrot halwa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Benares

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Benares
Nirvana Towers, Nairobi, Kenya
3747364
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best carrot halwa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved the food here and their carrot halwa was to die for. The only problem was the place was quite empty with only two tables being served on Saturday for lunch

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Indian fusion restaurant. Superb service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Excellent Indian fusion restaurant. Superb service. Huge portions. Party of about 6 and turned out we were the only guests on this night and the staff did not disappoint in service and food. Definitely recommend and look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quiet gem of an Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Had dinner here once with friends, the place is very quiet, the food was amazing and I think quite reasonably priced.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

While in Nairobi, this is the restaurant I am taken to for lunch every day! The food is really awesome, and I noticed the prices are not bad either. They have a good mix of Eastern and traditional dishes, as well as a good steak and chips! The portions are huge though, so I normally get a doggy bag.
The decor is not fancy, more on the functional side - but it is really clean, and the waitresses are really friendly. Good vibe during lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Benares also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 
Nairobi, Kenya

Been to The Benares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Benares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.