We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful Garden Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Collingham Gardens Residence & Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Collingham Gardens Residence & Club to your Saves list
Collingham Gardens Residence & Club
Masai West Road | P.O Box 249-00502, Nairobi 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 162 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Simply Wonderful Garden Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I often like a nice quite place where I can also catch up with my work as I travel. This hotels was exactly as I saw it on the web page. High recommended if you want a quite place out of town full of fresh air and good staff. Keep up the good work guys. (Axel)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Gachie, Manager at Collingham Gardens Residence & Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Axel Malekia

Thanks Axel! We will keep up the good work and the nice quiet garden atmosphere here at Collingham Gardens Residence & Club. Please feel free to make your next booking by contacting me (operations@collinghamgardens.co.ke) or the Front Office Supervisor (fom@collinghamgardens.co.ke)

Cheers
Catherine Gachie
On behalf of the Collingham team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Awesome concept and great hotel design, however there are not many guests.
The concept is that there are 4 or 5 very grand villas, the rooms are in the villas and each villa has a communal living room, dining room and hallway. It is all very luxurious.
The food is ok, the steaks are not up to scratch, but the fish is fantastic.
You can see rabbits and guinea fowl roaming the gardens!
There is also the enjoyment of a heated pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Gachie, Manager at Collingham Gardens Residence & Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Steve L,

Greetings from Collingham Gardens. Thank you for the nice description of our accommodation facilities. We have a new menu in place and I hope we will have the pleasure of your company in the future so that you may sample our new recipes.

PS: The rabbits and guinea fowl are roaming around vey happily.

Best regards
Catherine Gachie
On behalf of the Collingham team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was wondering what sort of a hotel it would turn out to be after a long flight from Singapore, and a long ride in the darkness from Nairobi airport. And it was a real pleasant surprise when I reached Collingham. Quaint, old world and far removed from a typical hotel. It was more like a home stay, with lovely villas overlooking a garden and a farm house. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Gachie, Manager at Collingham Gardens Residence & Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Praveen Ramachandra

We are so glad that you were pleasantly surprised and that you enjoyed stay.


Best regards
Catherine Gachie
On behalf of the Collingham team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

In August, I spent three weeks at the Collingham on business, and I cannot say enough about how wonderful the experience was. It is boutique-style rather than mass accommodation. The rooms are lovely and clean, and the grounds are absolutely spectacular. The food is gourmet and some of the best I've had anywhere in the world. The gym is small, but adequate. The staff and management are professional and quality people. I love this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Gachie, Manager at Collingham Gardens Residence & Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Travelerw0rk,

We really appreciate your very nice comment.
Karibu tena (Kiswahili for "Welcome again")

Best regards
Catherine Gachie
On behalf of the Collingham team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a quiet well maintained property and the service is truly amazing. I arrived just before midnight and the kitchen crew knew I was coming and waited to take my order for dinner. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The food is limited in selection but I found it very good. Most importantly, I felt very secure which is an important consideration in the context of Kenya.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Gachie, Manager at Collingham Gardens Residence & Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Baba Tabo,

Thank you for your lovely comment. We have looked into our food selection and the chef has lovely specials every week. I hope we will have the pleasure of your company again soon.


Best regards
Catherine Gachie
On behalf of the Collingham team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Collingham is located in Karen suburb in Nairobi, in a very exclusive location, they have marvellous rooms and their sports bar is just out of this world, their one honeymoon suite is recommended for those who would luv to have their honeymoon in Nairobi, also a good town hotel for guys visiting Kenya for safari's, they have a heated pool, a gym, a specialised salon and oftenly host karaoke by their bar......

Room Tip: rooms on 1st floor onward are really good as compared to the ground floor rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Gachie, Manager at Collingham Gardens Residence & Club, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Perminus

We appreciate your lovely comments. It has been quite a while since you were here so I hope we can host you again soon.

Karibu!

Regards
Catherine Gachie
On behalf of the Collingham team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Collingham Gardens Residence & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingham Gardens Residence & Club

Address: Masai West Road | P.O Box 249-00502, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An executive and exclusive residence in the suburbs of Karen, where guests experience exceptional care and genuine hospitality. A boutique hotel whose elegance captures the refined qualities that are at the heart of a stylish home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Collingham Gardens Residence & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collingham Gardens Residence & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.