We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Appearance” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Artcaffe

Artcaffe
Dagaoretti Corner | Junction Mall, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 358 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Zaragoza, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Only Appearance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is the clear example of overrated place. Is also clearly targeting the high class with an average of prices high when they offer an standard quality.

Besides I hear multiple histories about bad service provided to the local (because they don't give tips, I believe is the most logical reason I hear rather than discrimination).

In my case the only time I went, was with a French friend who went there a lot of sundays for brunch and the service was correct except that they mistake with the size of the juices we asked to change and they just put the same ones with added water (which made the taste badd). The food as okey but I feel that for the quality too expensive (and dont talk about the horrible juices).

P.S. The 100% Chocolate Cake is the best one I never tasted in Kenya by far (maybe for a coffee and and piece of cake it works pretty well)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very Over Rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have been in ArtCaffe more than ten times. Usually friends ask me to meet there. Junction mall is very well located and well known.
Parking is a problem as almost everywhere in Nairobi. Sometimes is takes ages to get in or out.
The public roadside position is not good at all. The smell of the cars easily reaches clients seated outside.
Fornutures are poor. Internet connection often does not work (like today, April 28th).
Coffe is not very good (i am italian and when I ask for an espresso... I expect to get an espresso not a starbucks style crap coffe). Today I also asked a tiramisu. No ncomment, I did not finish it. Too swet, too creamy, no italian biscuits indide, indid not feel the coffe, buttered taste... so it did not help in the "su" at all, but become a tirami-giu'....
Coffe + tirami su = almost ten dollars.... well, waste of money!!!
Why I didn't gave a terrible rating? Because of the smile of the waiter, she was very gentle indeed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Art Caffe just never seems to live up to its reputation for me! It seems to miss the mark as a resturant due to its public roadside placement. However it does not get it right as a chic trendy place to be seen either. The prices are high end and the furnishings are not, the chairs and tables are cheap and rickety. The wine list is extensive but the cellars are empty.
An expensive quick bite on the run- yes, a choice of place to stop and enjoy a pricey meal- no

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good for a relaxing lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This nice restaurant is located in the Junction Mall near the Dagoretti Corner matatu stage. We ate there several times during our stay in Nairobi. The atmosphere is very relaxed. There is outdoor, covered seating. The staff is very friendly and efficient. The menu is quite varied with many unique selections. We had excellent salads and a nice chicken sandwich. Don't expect traditional African fare (ugali or nyama choma), but the food is good and fresh. The clientele here is a lot of expats as opposed to Africans so this would not give you a true sense of an Kenyan restaurant, but an excellent place to grab a bite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“art life magazine great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If am asked, The food of this cafe is all standard and quality. i can advice any new person to Kenya to visit any of their branches. Just tried a different branch and all is the same, service, quality and organisation

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artcaffe also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Artcaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artcaffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.