We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb find near Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Karen Country Lodge to your Saves list
Karen Country Lodge
Warai South Road | 24390, Nairobi 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A superb find near Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A little belated as I stayed here on my first night in Kenya in January but I would thoroughly recommend it for somewhere to stay close to Nairobi but away from the city. From the booking right through to check out arrangements were excellent. The accommodation is fabulous and felt very secure. In the morning the set up was well under way for a wedding but this did not interfere with any of the residents needs. The gardens are beautifully kept. Breakfast was satisfactory but it is the feeling of security, quiet, accommodation and location which the definite strong points with this venue. Transport arrangements from the airport late at night and to Wilson Airport the following morning were all perfect. I would thoroughly recommend it and will definitely stay again when next in Kenya,

Room Tip: All the rooms were large, very well equipped and beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.Thank you for your positive review and welcome again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
4
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights after safari and before our flight home. What a wonderful spot to relax. The main room in the cottage was massive and comfortable and there was a huge luxurious bathroom to match. I loved the stained glass panel and pieces around the grounds. With great and friendly service, what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: The cottages by the lake are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Kathy for your positive review.Welcome again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

A 3 day business trip in Nairobi was made by this wonderful escape from the city. Arrived after midnight and we we met by Paul who had a hot meal ready for us and then showed us to the amazing cottages. The cottages are beautifully finished with great attention to design and luxury.
Fantastic food, helpful attentive staff and amazing accommodation - 5 stars around.
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.Thank you for your positive review and welcome again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

As soon as you step foot in Karen Country Lodge you are made to feel welcome!! The staff are so friendly and helpful!! The rooms are what you would expect from a 5* luxury property, all set around a beautiful lake! I had the opportunity to have a sunset drink with the owner by the lakeside and he is very courteous. Meals are very good in the restaurant. The location is perfect; far enough to have quite but close if you want to go out in the evening. Would I go again.... YES!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Karen Country Lodge was very happy to host you.We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge and we appreciate feedback from you.You are most welcome once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morogoro, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in July 2013 for a change from the other hotel I was living in during my time in Nairobi.

The cottage was just lovely-lots of room (bed & separate sitting area), fireplace and a small kitchenette (fridge and hot water kettle). The bathroom was to die-for, with a claw-foot tub, which I regret not using while I was there. A front porch to sit on and relax was an added bonus!

The only negative is that I loved this place so much that I wanted to move to it for the rest of my time in Nairobi. I made arrangements with the woman at reception, agreed on a price and made arrangements to move over a few days later. The day before, the woman calls me and tells me that she couldn't honor the price, leaving me in a bit of an awkward situation, but luckily my existing hotel had room for me to stay.

The breakfast was good and the bar had a nice atmosphere. Live music is available on some nights. I went here a few other times for meals and always enjoyed the plates.

It's located a bit off the beaten path, but is easily accessible via taxi to the Giraffe Center, Karen Blixen Gardens and some really tasty restaurants like Talisman and Que Pasa. A bit of a walk to the Karen Shopping Center where there is a Nakumatt (grocery store), Dorman's (coffee shop) and a variety of other shops and restaurants, but a taxi should only cost you around 200 Kenyan Shillings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your positive review.Welcome once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Had the worst experience eating here. From the service to the food. Did not get welcomed by anyone when we got in. Sitting down on the table we had to wait more than 30 min to get our orders. after which the drinks and starters took so long. Asking for jikos was a hastle. Main course took nearly an hour and even when it came it was the worst food we ate. Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedidah N, Employee at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are very sorry for your bad experience..all these things have been changed and improved on completely.You are most welcome again to enjoy our excellent services.This time things will be amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulverton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Gorgeous, cosy rooms - we stayed in a cottage. Friendly staff and fantastic owners - we really felt at home; the staff and owners couldn't help us enough! V relaxing and beautifully appointed rooms and gardens. Imaginative and fun decor in dining room; great location. Definitely will go again! Lucy

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks Lucy for your positive review and you are most welcome to stay at the cottages again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Karen Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Country Lodge

Address: Warai South Road | 24390, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the leafy- green, Karen suburbia rests an eclectic leisure haven. Draped in modern, chic decor, this once colonial bungalow radiates a stunning, serene ambiance that captivates any audience. Sip a cocktail in the luscious, vibrant gardens or host a conference in this tranquil refuge. Surround yourself in serenity, let go in classic comfort in our chic boutique cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Karen Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.