We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Country Lodge in Kenya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added Karen Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karen Country Lodge
Warai South Road, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice Country Lodge in Kenya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This lodge has a nice feel to it with interesting glass artwork scattered about the place, works of art & bits & pieces to enjoy throughout the establishment. The staff are friendly willing to bend over backwards for you (cooking us a late meal even though the kitchen was closed).
The rooms are clean & serviced everyday to a high standard.
If you like a dark room this is not the place for you as it's quite bright in the morning, however if you like a spacious bathroom with a bath tub to soak in all your dreams will come true.
I wasn't a fan of the food here it never quite got past the average point but our overall experience was enjoyable

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
4
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

An absolutely brilliant place to stay, friendly staff, good food and drink, peaceful surroundings and stunning rooms. Rob and Georgina are great hosts, nothing is too much of a problem for them. I would definately recommend Karen Country lodge to anyone who is looking for a nice relaxing stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful few days at Karen Country Lodge. Excellent food, great service and a lovely atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble. Enjoyed lolling by the pool and strolling in the gardens in the evening. I would definitely recommend KCL to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday and a fab time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Went there with my friends for the weekend and had a great time. The staff are super friendly and the service is really good. It's in a nice peaceful area called Karen and as soon as me and my friends got there we felt relaxed. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a really good night at Karen Country Lodge. Had a very good dinner, headed down to the rooms, where there was a fire already made, making the room very warm, good atmosphere. The service as very good, we were looked after very well throughout our stay. This is a perfect spot, will defiantly be coming back here whenever i am in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Room 5 nice very in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Enjoyed a week at the Karen Country Lodge being looked after by Rob and his team. Rooms were outstanding and the restaurant was excellent. Especially enjoyed the breakfasts and the fresh tree tomato juice. Nothing was too much trouble and I will definitely look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in Cottage 1 which was extremely quiet and only a 2 min walk from/to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in two different stays. Loved it. Say hello to Rob and Georgina. They have established a delightful place to stay in great location. Visit Georgina's studio to see some very well crafted art. Dine in Rob's restaurant for good quality well prepared meals.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Karen Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Country Lodge

Address: Warai South Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Karen Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;