We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, wish it were the same for the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muhibbah

Muhibbah
Sankara Hotel, Woodvale Grove, | Westlands,, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #255 of 338 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent service, wish it were the same for the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This restaurat is set in a relatively quiet corner of the hotel, ideal for couples and dinner dates. The staff were excellent and the reserved table for 2 was just right in front of the open kitchen, which I liked. The decor and ambiance is quite something to write home about.There's an extensive wine list and the sommelier tends to guests very well, making recommendations for wine that suited our palates and went beautifully with the food. However, the starter I ordered (Thai fishcake) was quite bland, and as expected, the duck rolls ran out (this was something I was told happened often). The main course was alright but I expected more from such a lovely restaurant. Good experience overall, would definitely return but not order the same items from the menu. I'd highly recommend this restaurant for couples but not for a large group (unless reservations are made) as the setting is quite small.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Engare Nairobi, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had dinner at the Thai restaurant. Worst thai food i have had. On the menu items with gluten were listed but then it was realised that all these were misprints. Anyway the chef said we could order the drumsticks. We paid for bloody fried chicken which was not of 5 star quality what so ever. The whole menu was a total misconception for anyone with celiacs, you can never really be sure whether its safe to eat. Complained to the Manager on duty who clearly did not give two hoots. Ate at the continental restaurant a few weeks ago, bumped into my friend on the way out and we both concluded that we ate a shoe tonight ie. the steak. Very disappointed!! Not worth it at all. Very Crappy unconsiderate management.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Sankara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Have visited Muhibbah several times (have to admit sometimes twice in the same week). If you like pan-asian, Thai inspired food, it's the place for you. Really tasty authentic dishes and a well priced wine list. Would recommend drinks after at the bar across the hallway. Service is superb! Not cheap, but worth every shilling.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just what I needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I didn't really give the choice of this restaurant much thought as I stumbled upon it in the hotel I was staying in. However, I was glad I did. The food was fantastic of a high quality and affordable but fairly predictable. The service was impeccable and the staff friendly.

It's worth nipping up to the roof bar afterwards for after dinner drinks.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Poor flavours and poor ambience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Sankara should have rally done better given how incredibly pricey the menu is. The restaurant is a bit pretentious given you have to make a reservation otherwise they refuse to serve you. When we got there there were so many empty tables!

The restaurant feels like a fast food place and the decor and ambience is really lacking. The food was tasteless. We had ordered two separate and different thai curries. There was no differentiating tastes or aromas between them with the exception of the dominant taste of palm sugar.

A very disappointing experience and one to avoid!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muhibbah also viewed

 

Been to Muhibbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muhibbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.