We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, warm and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purdy Arms

Save Saved
You added Purdy Arms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Purdy Arms
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Nairobi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming, warm and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very romantic and the staff is outstanding. Thank you for a great stay and thank you for making the surprise so much more special. We will be returning soon! The location and ambiance is spot on. Keep it up!



  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Had our 27th anniversary there. Juls and staff were excellent. The food (amazing breakfast) and room were superb! The place is frequented by many expats who live in Kenya and it attests to its charm. We have lived in east Africa for 23 years and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Love it here, it's a great place for children with expansive lawns, bouncy castle,play house etc, the gardens are growing beautifully, staff are friendly, food is delicious and the beers are always cold!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forget, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a short break here in 2 stints, before and after a trip to the National Parks.

The staff and owners were cheerful, friendly and most efficient (in the Kenyan context). As there was a group of us in 2 families, our needs and desires were quite diverse, but we always got what we wanted.

Our room, Twiga, overlooked the gardens and it was a real treat to have a coffee sitting on the balcony watching the world go by. Our friends had the other rooms (suits) and were more than content with the quality.

In the extensive grounds,Purdy's has events such as a Farmer's market and hog roasts and craft fairs. There is also a vegetable garden and the produce from here is used in the restaurant.

I liked the chicks (the chicken variety) wandering around outside along with the occasional visit into the gardens by monkeys.

Wifi was mostly OK in the room, but for a high level of bandwidth, it was necessary to go to the bar area.

The food, including the breakfasts was very good value (try the scambled egg !!!!). The pizzas as well as more adventurous food was nicely prepared, tasty and did not break the bank.

The bar area is a nice place to meet friends, but if you are alone, it is also ideal.

On Friday and Saturday nights, the bar can be lively and noisy. As I am old, I did not appreciate the "pop group" with the loud "singers" which went on a shade too late on a Saturday evening. Others may like this sort of thing, but I cheered when they finally packed in.

True, some of the decor in the rooms needs a fettle, but Purdy's was far far better option than a chain and impersonal hotel elsewhere.

As for location, Purdy's is very close to the Nairobi National Park as well as good restaurants should you choose to eat away from Purdy's. If you visit, please do go to the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage. For $50, you can adopt a baby elephant. I think I am right in saying that this also entitles you to visit in the evening for an hour when the general public are excluded to see the young elephants arriving back at the sanctuary for an evening meal (see photo).

By the way, we organised the airport pickups via Purdys. This worked well and I would recommend this rather than a hire car as driving standards and the highway maintenance are poor in the extreme. Better to let a local driver take the pressure ....

We will be more than happy to return and would recommend the B&B to anybody considering staying in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Ask for Twiga, but not when we want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thisted, Denmark
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed in Purdy Arms for a periode of 9 days doing on a business trip, our local branch office is located near by.
The service and the food is outstanding, you get good value for your money.
The only little minus was the rooster crowing every morning from 5.45. ( KILL IT ) :O)
Will for sure return

Room Tip: Chui is a good room large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words and taking the time to write such a nice review.

We have had a word with our natures alarm clock and the rooster has promised to try crowing a little bit later :o)

We really look forward to welcoming you back and thanks again for staying at the Purdy Arms, Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very good friendly service. Room well prepared and serviced. Location convenient to Nairobi with beautiful mature gardens, outdoor dining terrace, & big screens for sporting events. A very pleasant meeting place. We enjoyed our short break!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks so much for staying at the Purdy Arms, Karen and for taking the time to write such a kind review.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your short break and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were recommended this hotel by friends, and ended up in the biggest room/suite, called Twiga. It was spacious, with a separate living room, bedroom, and gigantic bathroom. The tub was the size of a large jacuzzi. There was a balcony overlooking the gardens.
But everything was a bit tired. The sofas sagged. The TV in the bedroom didn't work. Mostly, the bathroom needs upgrading - the toilet barely flushed and tub faucets leaked so much in every direction (sending water all over the floor rather than into the tub) that we gave up and used the shower instead.
The bar is a popular local hangout. As we were there on a holiday weekend, there was music and loud activity until 3-4 am.
There were numerous power outages, in spite of the hotel's generator. For breakfast, there was no power at all, so we were served instant coffee with water heated on a gas stove and a breakfast that was basic, at best.
The staff were very friendly.
But for the money, we'll go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, we are glad about the pros, but obviously upset about the cons, as we try to provide the best service we possibly can at the Purdy Arms in Karen.

We have reviewed our guest briefing since there is nearly always one of the owners, Jules or Kat on site and if you had pointed out any of the issues during the stay then we would have looked into them immediately and resolved them as soon as possible.

I can only apologize for the bathroom leaks and these were in fact repaired as soon as you left when we noticed the issue on our post-check out inspection. DSTV, the satellite company can be unstable but we haven't had any issues of it not working, which is why we wish you had let us know of the problem so we could have immediately looked into it.

There were indeed an great number of power outages during your stay and whilst we have a substantial generator unfortunately it needs some down time to be refueled and checked as it had been on for well over 36 hours. We have discussed this and will make sure any such down time in the future is between breakfast and lunch hours and not during breakfast so as not to ruin breakfast.

We can only apologize again that you only found your stay average as we do think we have one of the most unique Bed and Breakfasts in Nairobi and we are nearly always on site to assist where we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Purdy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Arms

Address: 61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 23 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills ("I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills" – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa), it is a relaxing place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Purdy Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purdy Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.