We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purdy Arms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Purdy Arms to your Saves list
Purdy Arms
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 157 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Love it here, it's a great place for children with expansive lawns, bouncy castle,play house etc, the gardens are growing beautifully, staff are friendly, food is delicious and the beers are always cold!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
10
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forget, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a short break here in 2 stints, before and after a trip to the National Parks.

The staff and owners were cheerful, friendly and most efficient (in the Kenyan context). As there was a group of us in 2 families, our needs and desires were quite diverse, but we always got what we wanted.

Our room, Twiga, overlooked the gardens and it was a real treat to have a coffee sitting on the balcony watching the world go by. Our friends had the other rooms (suits) and were more than content with the quality.

In the extensive grounds,Purdy's has events such as a Farmer's market and hog roasts and craft fairs. There is also a vegetable garden and the produce from here is used in the restaurant.

I liked the chicks (the chicken variety) wandering around outside along with the occasional visit into the gardens by monkeys.

Wifi was mostly OK in the room, but for a high level of bandwidth, it was necessary to go to the bar area.

The food, including the breakfasts was very good value (try the scambled egg !!!!). The pizzas as well as more adventurous food was nicely prepared, tasty and did not break the bank.

The bar area is a nice place to meet friends, but if you are alone, it is also ideal.

On Friday and Saturday nights, the bar can be lively and noisy. As I am old, I did not appreciate the "pop group" with the loud "singers" which went on a shade too late on a Saturday evening. Others may like this sort of thing, but I cheered when they finally packed in.

True, some of the decor in the rooms needs a fettle, but Purdy's was far far better option than a chain and impersonal hotel elsewhere.

As for location, Purdy's is very close to the Nairobi National Park as well as good restaurants should you choose to eat away from Purdy's. If you visit, please do go to the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage. For $50, you can adopt a baby elephant. I think I am right in saying that this also entitles you to visit in the evening for an hour when the general public are excluded to see the young elephants arriving back at the sanctuary for an evening meal (see photo).

By the way, we organised the airport pickups via Purdys. This worked well and I would recommend this rather than a hire car as driving standards and the highway maintenance are poor in the extreme. Better to let a local driver take the pressure ....

We will be more than happy to return and would recommend the B&B to anybody considering staying in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Ask for Twiga, but not when we want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thisted, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed in Purdy Arms for a periode of 9 days doing on a business trip, our local branch office is located near by.
The service and the food is outstanding, you get good value for your money.
The only little minus was the rooster crowing every morning from 5.45. ( KILL IT ) :O)
Will for sure return

Room Tip: Chui is a good room large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words and taking the time to write such a nice review.

We have had a word with our natures alarm clock and the rooster has promised to try crowing a little bit later :o)

We really look forward to welcoming you back and thanks again for staying at the Purdy Arms, Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very good friendly service. Room well prepared and serviced. Location convenient to Nairobi with beautiful mature gardens, outdoor dining terrace, & big screens for sporting events. A very pleasant meeting place. We enjoyed our short break!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks so much for staying at the Purdy Arms, Karen and for taking the time to write such a kind review.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your short break and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were recommended this hotel by friends, and ended up in the biggest room/suite, called Twiga. It was spacious, with a separate living room, bedroom, and gigantic bathroom. The tub was the size of a large jacuzzi. There was a balcony overlooking the gardens.
But everything was a bit tired. The sofas sagged. The TV in the bedroom didn't work. Mostly, the bathroom needs upgrading - the toilet barely flushed and tub faucets leaked so much in every direction (sending water all over the floor rather than into the tub) that we gave up and used the shower instead.
The bar is a popular local hangout. As we were there on a holiday weekend, there was music and loud activity until 3-4 am.
There were numerous power outages, in spite of the hotel's generator. For breakfast, there was no power at all, so we were served instant coffee with water heated on a gas stove and a breakfast that was basic, at best.
The staff were very friendly.
But for the money, we'll go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, we are glad about the pros, but obviously upset about the cons, as we try to provide the best service we possibly can at the Purdy Arms in Karen.

We have reviewed our guest briefing since there is nearly always one of the owners, Jules or Kat on site and if you had pointed out any of the issues during the stay then we would have looked into them immediately and resolved them as soon as possible.

I can only apologize for the bathroom leaks and these were in fact repaired as soon as you left when we noticed the issue on our post-check out inspection. DSTV, the satellite company can be unstable but we haven't had any issues of it not working, which is why we wish you had let us know of the problem so we could have immediately looked into it.

There were indeed an great number of power outages during your stay and whilst we have a substantial generator unfortunately it needs some down time to be refueled and checked as it had been on for well over 36 hours. We have discussed this and will make sure any such down time in the future is between breakfast and lunch hours and not during breakfast so as not to ruin breakfast.

We can only apologize again that you only found your stay average as we do think we have one of the most unique Bed and Breakfasts in Nairobi and we are nearly always on site to assist where we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here on arrival to Nairobi after searching for somewhere on the internet and then by recommendation. After a long and stressful journey our welcome could not have been better. We were fortunate enough to be given a better room as we arrived early in the morning and the room we had booked was occupied. Grateful to be able to get some rest our room was fantastic overlooking the beautiful gardens with a lovely sitting room. I would recommend this as for us it was perfect for entertaining family and friends as well. Arriving on a Sunday, after re charging our batteries, we had lunch on the beautiful sunny terrace. Friends and family joined us and it was a wonderful setting. Breakfast was also delicious and staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating. Thanks Purdy Arms for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the staff are so pleased with your comments which we shared with them.

We have tried to create a relaxing atmosphere within the 23 acres that the Purdy Arms, Karen sits on and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Restored colonial homestead turned country restaurant. Vast green lawns underneath gentle old giant trees take you back to those years on the Kenyan highlands. Share a good East African beer with friends and enjoy bulky burgers with chunky home made lamb patties with all the right trimmings. Those were the days...

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a kind review of the Purdy Arms, Karen. The house was originally built in the 1940's and it is an amazing building full of history.

Thanks again for taking the time to write such a nice review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Purdy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Arms

Address: 61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 23 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills ("I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills" – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa), it is a relaxing place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Purdy Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purdy Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;