We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purdy Arms

Save Saved
You added Purdy Arms to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Purdy Arms
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very good friendly service. Room well prepared and serviced. Location convenient to Nairobi with beautiful mature gardens, outdoor dining terrace, & big screens for sporting events. A very pleasant meeting place. We enjoyed our short break!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks so much for staying at the Purdy Arms, Karen and for taking the time to write such a kind review.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your short break and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were recommended this hotel by friends, and ended up in the biggest room/suite, called Twiga. It was spacious, with a separate living room, bedroom, and gigantic bathroom. The tub was the size of a large jacuzzi. There was a balcony overlooking the gardens.
But everything was a bit tired. The sofas sagged. The TV in the bedroom didn't work. Mostly, the bathroom needs upgrading - the toilet barely flushed and tub faucets leaked so much in every direction (sending water all over the floor rather than into the tub) that we gave up and used the shower instead.
The bar is a popular local hangout. As we were there on a holiday weekend, there was music and loud activity until 3-4 am.
There were numerous power outages, in spite of the hotel's generator. For breakfast, there was no power at all, so we were served instant coffee with water heated on a gas stove and a breakfast that was basic, at best.
The staff were very friendly.
But for the money, we'll go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, we are glad about the pros, but obviously upset about the cons, as we try to provide the best service we possibly can at the Purdy Arms in Karen.

We have reviewed our guest briefing since there is nearly always one of the owners, Jules or Kat on site and if you had pointed out any of the issues during the stay then we would have looked into them immediately and resolved them as soon as possible.

I can only apologize for the bathroom leaks and these were in fact repaired as soon as you left when we noticed the issue on our post-check out inspection. DSTV, the satellite company can be unstable but we haven't had any issues of it not working, which is why we wish you had let us know of the problem so we could have immediately looked into it.

There were indeed an great number of power outages during your stay and whilst we have a substantial generator unfortunately it needs some down time to be refueled and checked as it had been on for well over 36 hours. We have discussed this and will make sure any such down time in the future is between breakfast and lunch hours and not during breakfast so as not to ruin breakfast.

We can only apologize again that you only found your stay average as we do think we have one of the most unique Bed and Breakfasts in Nairobi and we are nearly always on site to assist where we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here on arrival to Nairobi after searching for somewhere on the internet and then by recommendation. After a long and stressful journey our welcome could not have been better. We were fortunate enough to be given a better room as we arrived early in the morning and the room we had booked was occupied. Grateful to be able to get some rest our room was fantastic overlooking the beautiful gardens with a lovely sitting room. I would recommend this as for us it was perfect for entertaining family and friends as well. Arriving on a Sunday, after re charging our batteries, we had lunch on the beautiful sunny terrace. Friends and family joined us and it was a wonderful setting. Breakfast was also delicious and staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating. Thanks Purdy Arms for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the staff are so pleased with your comments which we shared with them.

We have tried to create a relaxing atmosphere within the 23 acres that the Purdy Arms, Karen sits on and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Restored colonial homestead turned country restaurant. Vast green lawns underneath gentle old giant trees take you back to those years on the Kenyan highlands. Share a good East African beer with friends and enjoy bulky burgers with chunky home made lamb patties with all the right trimmings. Those were the days...

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a kind review of the Purdy Arms, Karen. The house was originally built in the 1940's and it is an amazing building full of history.

Thanks again for taking the time to write such a nice review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I was recommended Purdy by friends for an overnight stay and took my family to lunch there. The gardens are very nice but service for lunch was poor and the chicken we ordered was under cooked with blood at the bone, I was afraid my daughter may have become ill. preparation and thorough cooking and kitchen hygiene is vital everywhere but particularly in Africa. I returned most of the meal uneaten and did not book to stay overnight.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Sorry for the delay in responding but we wanted to conduct a thorough investigation into your review and discuss the matter with all the managers, kitchen staff and waiters who were on duty during November, December 2013 and January 2014.

The owners of the Purdy Arms have a combined hospitality and food hygiene experience of over 60 years in both Kenya and abroad and one of us is always on duty, particularly over lunch and dinner times. No one can recollect such an incident nor understand what lunch dish you could have ordered with chicken on the bone.

All finished meals are closely monitored in order to ensure that everything is to our customers satisfaction and again no one can recollect any such return or complaint being made.

We take food hygiene very seriously with both regular internal reviews and third party external consultants brought in to ensure that the highest standards are in place and being maintained. Both the young children of one of the owners regularly eat at the Purdy Arms together with their friends which is even further motivation to ensure that such standards are achieved and surpassed.

We would be grateful if you could contact us and ask for one of the owners so that we can discuss this matter further so we can fully understand and conclude the investigation into the serious incident you discuss. We would also like to take the opportunity to show you the kitchen to put your mind at rest with regards to the kitchen hygiene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed one night before Safari to Tanzania. Room was already ready in the morning when my friend arrived first. They have very nice bar, restaurant and big pleasant garden. It was really nice to drink glasses of wine in the garden during day time. They have archery facility too.

I was a little bit worry about the location because I thought Karen area was a little bit far from Nairobi town area. However it was about 20 minutes taxi ride to the Silver Springs hotel where shuttles departs to Arusha (but on Saturday morning.) Also we caught 8am bus to Arusha, and Purdy Arms prepared our breakfast at 6 am because we needed to leave at 7am. And they set the table ready when I went to dining room at 6pm!

Their food in the restaurant was really nice. Avocado pizza was really delicious and unique. Seafood soup was great and I really loved their Tilapia. Portion was really big and I could not finis my main. Breakfast was good too but nothing very special.

We stayed in Manba room. Room was small, located in ground floor but old and cozy. No problem with hot shower and water pressure. There are a lot of mosquitos. However they provided spray in the room, so no worries!

After the long day of long flight and sight seeing of Nairobi. We back to Purdy Arms. Just before going to bed, I found out that they did not change the bed linen at all. I was freaked out a lot of hairs those were not MINE sticked on the bed sheets, duvet, pillow case etc. It was about 12AM. I asked twice and they finally changed bed linen and it was completed about 1AM. I did not expect that they did not change the sheets. Since my friend could check in in the morning, I suspected that they might not clean up the room. This incident was only my disappointment.

Except bed linen, I had good time in Purdy Arms. But I think I will try other hotel when I will go to Nairobi next time.

Room Tip: -Check if bed linen are fresh right after check in! Because they might not change it! -Drink wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of the Purdy Arms, Karen.

We are pleased that you had a good time and enjoyed our extensive gardens and restaurant menu. We pride ourselves in the homely bed and breakfast which we offer, and are so pleased when our guests and friends appreciate this.

I was surprised with your comment on the bed linen as, with all guests, I personally supervised the room being prepared for your early check in.

However, we have taken your concerns to heart and have made sure that any guest requests for change of bed linen can be immediately attended to regardless of the time, day or night.

We do hope to welcome you back for some more glasses of wine in our unique garden setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavenham, Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I booked the "cheetah" room for one night prior to departing on our safari. As soon as we arrived at the Purdy Arms/Blix Inn, we were cursing ourselves for not booking at least two nights in order to fully enjoy the place. The room was HUGE and well appointed, though the water pressure/temp in the shower was not working (often the case in Kenya anyway). We missed out on the famous pizza in the bar, but enjoyed some Tusker and the hospitality the staff and resident cats and dog. My cousin, who is currently living and studying in Nairobi, joined us late that night, and it was nice of staff to let us linger into the wee hours rather than pushing us out so they could stop working. The next morning, we had a really nice full English breakfast on the terrace and enjoyed watching the birds. I'mm so mad we didn't have time to explore the massive, lush garden! We would definitely stay here again if we are ever back in Nairobi!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurdyArmsKaren, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We wish you'd stayed longer too! Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a kind review which we have shared with the staff. Its great that there hard work and dedication is rewarded.

We try to create a relaxing atmosphere and spend a lot of time enjoying the grounds ourselves when we are not working. The gardens are truly unique.

Can't wait to welcome you back if you are ever in Nairobi again.

Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Purdy Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Arms

Address: 61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 23 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills ("I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills" – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa), it is a relaxing place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Purdy Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purdy Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;