We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good convienient place for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of About Thyme

About Thyme
Corner of Peponi Road and Eldama Ravine Road | Westlands, Nairobi 14150 - 00800, Kenya
721850026
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 318 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: European, International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good convienient place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Given the traffic situation in Westlands we ventured back to About Thyme after a few years recently.

We were pleasantly surprised with quality of food upon your return. Maybe the menu has changed over the years but it was a great lunch; also the kids enjoyed themselves alot.

The only downside was that the waiter that we had was a new member of staff and not very versed in the menu and procedures, but none the less it was a great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    8
    9
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roodepoort, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent, make sure you go there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My friend took me to About Thyme – I recognized the name of the restaurant – it was listed in the hotel brochure. I did not know what to expect and it was great. The restaurant is an old renovated house with a European flair and a menu that offered descriptive and interesting options – international cuisine. My friend recommended the red snapper and it was by far the best fish that I have ever had! The grilled vegetables accompanying the fish formed a perfect combination. We did not stay for desert, but the Kenyan coffee offered a great end to a lovely meal. The restaurant offered us intimate and special dining and I definitely recommend it.
Sit outside and definitely try the red snapper!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Brunch was wonderful, it was not as crowded as expected which was nice. They have tasty crepes and waffles. The only think was it looked dark, since even the outside seating area was also covered and probably because of the furniture choice. Around 1pm restaurant started to get crowded, so if you are a late eater you better make a reservation, otherwise it may be hard to find a table.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“My favourite go-to dinner spot in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've been to About Thyme for dinner four times now, three of which have been for medium-to-large group birthday dinners. Even with a big group, the service has been wonderful and prompt. They have a varied menu which has alternating weekly specials; everything I've eaten there has been delicious. Each time they have offered a free biting to start which is a really nice touch compared to other Nairobi eateries. Good choices for both meat-eaters and vegetarians. The chocolate peanut butter pie I had there was one of the best things I've ever eaten. I'm a loyal fan for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Call that a salad ?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I took my mother here for lunch today. It took them nearly 30 mins to bring out our order of one tomato soup and one green salad. The soup was tepid and tasteless. The salad was miserly in portion size and the chef had taken the trouble to wash the leaves but not to dry them, so there were a couple of millimetres of water at the bottom of the salad. I had to ask for the bill 4 times.

The manage was very pleasant when I gave her my feedback, but I doubt much will change, so I certainly will not go back. That is a shame because the setting is quite nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed About Thyme also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to About Thyme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage About Thyme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.