We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true mexican” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pete's Cafe & Burrito Haven

Pete's Cafe & Burrito Haven
George Padmore Lane, Ground Flr Bishop Magua Center | Ngong Road, Nairobi 9201,00300, Kenya
+254 722 374781
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“true mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

not huge, but authentic. good Mexican food, friendlz servants and of course Pete managing all. Enjoyable food at all

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real Mexican flavor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Beef Burritos are fantastic! Real black beans and the tortilla is not a chapati but a real flour tortilla. Finaly Mexican food comes to town! The owner Pete is a great guy who takes this very seriously. Oh I almost forgot coffee lovers this place has excellent coffee! Looking forward to having breakfast!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good burritos in Nairobi are hard to find (So try Pete’s).”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

When one walks in to Pete’s, one’s first impression is “Kumbe! This place is small!” But look up the steps and to the left and you’ll see plenty of spacious outdoor seating. My friend and I both ordered beef burritos (grilled chicken and plain bean are also available). Service was friendly. The place was noisy, so one might want to sit outside to avoid the kitchen noise that is just on the other side of the counter. My burrito was large, not huge, and looked and tasted very fresh. It didn’t come with chips (tortilla) and salsa as most North Americans are used to, but you can order for an additional Kshs 150/- (US$ 1.75). They were making cappuccinos and other coffees as well, although we did not sample. They have quesadillas, but no fajitas on the menu. There was Wi-Fi, but it was password protected and I did not ask about it. Pete says they deliver within a “certain” area; my office, 1.3 kms away, was within the delivery area. Our 2 burritos, 1 soda, and 1 bottled water came to Kshs. 850/- (US$ 10.00). Good value for a lunchtime menu. I’ll be back. (Pete, if you are reading this, consider adding fajitas!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An Authentic Mexican Burrito in Nairobi? No way!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

After living in Kenya 18 months, I miss real Mexican food. Pete's Cafe and Burrito Haven just opened on the ground floor of Bishop Magua Building (iHub) across from Uchumi on Ngong Road in Kilimani. I decided to amble in and see what was on the menu.

Whoa, burritos!!! I tried the chicken burrito and oh, my word, it was REAL Tex Mex, with that fresh salsa and cilantro taste.

The restaurant has a nice patio, with some awning covered tables that are a good private spot for one-on-one business meetings. They also have power points at all the inside tables for laptop users, which is handy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pete's Cafe & Burrito Haven also viewed

 

Been to Pete's Cafe & Burrito Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pete's Cafe & Burrito Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.