We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ethiopian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abyssinia

Abyssinia
Brookside Grove | Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 358 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Ethiopian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Looking for Ethiopian food, you have found it. Staff are friendly service very good. Though the washrooms need attention.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic ethiopian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I went to Abyssinia with my ethiopian housemate. I already loved the food and was very curious if she would also like it. She did!! She said it's very good and also authentic. Staff is super friendly, prices are fair and the food is just delicious!! Each time we went, we ordered those big plates where everybody can try from everything. I forgot all the amharic names for the dishes but everything we tried was really good. If you are not so decisive, the staff members will help you to choose from their menu. There is also a coffee ceremony afterwards with salty popcorn. yummy! All in all my favourite restaurant in Nairobi so far :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First Time in an Ethiopian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Prior to coming to Abyssinia I had neither eaten any Ethiopian meal nor had I gone to an Ethiopian restaurant. When a friend asked that we meet there, I was skeptical. Not being much of a foodie, I was apprehensive. I found Abyssinia to be a deeply traditional setting steeped in culture. The staff are friendly and displayed what I later learnt were Ethiopian way of greeting. Abe and Shitu (the run the place) were quite kind enough to teach me how to eat my meal in the traditional Ethiopian style. I am not so adventurous with food but the meal was great. I was able to use my fingers. We shared a platter and all four of us at the table had a great time. I took some great photos to keep the memory of the treat. I will be happy to go there. I missed taking the traditional Ethiopian tea though as I was late for another appointment. Well I guess there is always a next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best Ethiopian food in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I have been coming to this place for quiet some time and I have always enjoyed this food ... I think this is the best place in Nairobi to enjoy Ethiopian food

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Better Ethiopian Elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Abyssinia has a few great things going for it: lovely ambiance with a traditional feel, spacious seating area, and convenient location in Westlands.

However, while the food was good, I must say, I feel as though other Ethiopian places in Nairobi--particularly Habesha--are better, both in terms of value and in terms of atmosphere.

While I was there during a very rainy night, a light near us began sparking--to the point where it was extremely uncomfortable to sit there, as we were jumping in our seat repeatedly. We moved to another area. Of course, this was not the owner's fault, but it did color our experience. Service was very, very, very slow and inefficient, in comparison to other places in Nairobi.

Finally, while the food was good, it lacked the complexity I've grown to love in many Ethiopian dishes. The meat was extremely tough, and the spicy dishes seemed, well, just spicy--and didn't have the flavor of other Ethiopian places I've been to, both in Nairobi and in other countries. A friend of mine felt sick after the restaurant, although I felt fine.

And to echo some of the other reviews--the washrooms needed a good scrub-down.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinia also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Abyssinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abyssinia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.