We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Ethiopian Cuisine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abyssinia

Abyssinia
Brookside Grove | Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #17 of 301 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average Ethiopian Cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were a bit disappointed. We eat Ethiopian food quite a bit. This is not the best Ethiopian restaurant in town. The service was good. The food OK. The atmosphere also good. They made a fire in the fireplace while we waited. Although the place was empty on a Saturday afternoon, the wait was long. At least 45 minutes. Not worth a second visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    19
    9
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Fl
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Ethiopian in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a group of more than 10 and we were about half an hour late due to traffic yet they held our table.
The food and coffee was delicious.
Our June 2013 visit was our second trip to Abyssinia.
The wait staff took excellent care of us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best Ethiopian restaurant in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The only downside is that the help that they provide you whilst ordering is maybe not as good as one of the more popular places. However this won't phase anyone who has ordered Ethiopian food before, and certainly shouldn't put you off. This place is truly excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average tasting dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I went to try this restaurant because of the good reviews I saw here in TripAdvisor. I was a little disappointed with what I actually experienced. The only good thing I had was the coffee. Everything else fell short in terms of flavor and heat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I don't have much to add that has not already been said. I went with a group of 8 people and we all enjoyed the food. Great variety, really good injera bread, nice outdoor garden setting. This is the third Ethiopian restaurant I've visited in Nairobi and is hands-down the best.

As noted by a previous reviewer, it can be a bit difficult to get a menu for everybody but this seems to be a common thing in Kenya - one or two menus per table even if there is a large stack of menus sitting right there.

One downside that is common to all Ethiopian restaurants I've been to in Nairobi - if you plan to leave soon after eating you better ask for the bill right after they bring the food. It's hard to imagine how it could take so long to get a bill when there was only one other table with customers. But that's just part of the overall experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinia also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Abyssinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abyssinia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Abyssinia to your Saves list