We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ethiopian in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abyssinia

Abyssinia
Brookside Grove | Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 320 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Tarpon Springs, Fl
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Ethiopian in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a group of more than 10 and we were about half an hour late due to traffic yet they held our table.
The food and coffee was delicious.
Our June 2013 visit was our second trip to Abyssinia.
The wait staff took excellent care of us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best Ethiopian restaurant in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The only downside is that the help that they provide you whilst ordering is maybe not as good as one of the more popular places. However this won't phase anyone who has ordered Ethiopian food before, and certainly shouldn't put you off. This place is truly excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average tasting dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I went to try this restaurant because of the good reviews I saw here in TripAdvisor. I was a little disappointed with what I actually experienced. The only good thing I had was the coffee. Everything else fell short in terms of flavor and heat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I don't have much to add that has not already been said. I went with a group of 8 people and we all enjoyed the food. Great variety, really good injera bread, nice outdoor garden setting. This is the third Ethiopian restaurant I've visited in Nairobi and is hands-down the best.

As noted by a previous reviewer, it can be a bit difficult to get a menu for everybody but this seems to be a common thing in Kenya - one or two menus per table even if there is a large stack of menus sitting right there.

One downside that is common to all Ethiopian restaurants I've been to in Nairobi - if you plan to leave soon after eating you better ask for the bill right after they bring the food. It's hard to imagine how it could take so long to get a bill when there was only one other table with customers. But that's just part of the overall experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I went a couple of times at this fantastic restaurant. True experience with very nice food. Very clean with nice fireplace inside. Friendly and efficient service. Nive and vaste selection of food. Not to be missed: the spicy raw meat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinia also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Abyssinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abyssinia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.