We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abyssinia

Abyssinia
Brookside Grove | Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 324 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I don't have much to add that has not already been said. I went with a group of 8 people and we all enjoyed the food. Great variety, really good injera bread, nice outdoor garden setting. This is the third Ethiopian restaurant I've visited in Nairobi and is hands-down the best.

As noted by a previous reviewer, it can be a bit difficult to get a menu for everybody but this seems to be a common thing in Kenya - one or two menus per table even if there is a large stack of menus sitting right there.

One downside that is common to all Ethiopian restaurants I've been to in Nairobi - if you plan to leave soon after eating you better ask for the bill right after they bring the food. It's hard to imagine how it could take so long to get a bill when there was only one other table with customers. But that's just part of the overall experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I went a couple of times at this fantastic restaurant. True experience with very nice food. Very clean with nice fireplace inside. Friendly and efficient service. Nive and vaste selection of food. Not to be missed: the spicy raw meat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best quality and resonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

the food is real Ethiopian and they have best service and quality. if you like Ethiopian food you better choose this restaurant and even the price comparing to the test and quality of the food its reasonable. you will be friend with the people once you be there. they are so friendly and good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our third Ethiopian eating experience and it was delicious! I loved the flat breads and definitely want to return for more dishes. The waiter explained the dishes to us and helped us choose what to have. Service was good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were there with our teenager children and it was our first experience with an Ethiopian restaurant, a really great interesting experience. The service was very friendly and helpful.
We ordered under suggestion a combination meal for 4-5 people and we shared a lovely variety of foods served on large shared tray to eat with the Ethiopian bread.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinia also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Abyssinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abyssinia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;