We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ethiopian Food in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abyssinia

Abyssinia
Brookside Grove | Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 322 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best Ethiopian Food in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is the best Ethiopian food I've ever eaten in Nairobi, and as good as any Ethiopian food that I've ever eaten anywhere else. The food was mouth watering delicious. I can't wait to go back. The restaurant may lack a great atmosphere but it was impeccably clean. The menu was very extensive. The service was very friendly and polite, but somewhat slow. It's a great place to take a date because you sit low to the ground and it's very comfortable. As I said I'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ethiopian cuisine doesn't come better than this...except in Ethiopia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Amazing array of Ethiopian delicacies, friendly service, fair prices. A bit slow delivering the fruit juice for the 3 year old in tow, otherwise perfect!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musoma, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A great first experience with Ethiopian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Eating Ethiopian food for the first time was such a treat at Abyssinia. I'm glad I wasn't deterred by the "slightly out of the way" location. We arrived to the open air style restaurant (maybe a little chilly in the later evening of winter months) and immediately received warm, helpful service. The three of us ordered a combination meal and were thrilled as we shared a lovely variety of foods served on large shared tray of injera bread. We couldn't finish all of it because the portions were plenty generous, even though the menu stated it was for 2-3 people. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great Ethiopian food across the border”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The best Ethiopian food I have had in Nairobi! Service is excellent and the food is always a treat. Get multiple items to share and some beers...you will leave a happy person!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The Ethiopian culinary experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you can't go to Ethiopia and happen to be in Nairobi, Abyssinia is a true experience. The way they traditionally eat based in their bread called Injera which is to my delight "gluten free" as its made from rice flour.
The round tray is filled up with the bread and you just add all the meals you choose onto the tray and scoop the food with your bread. U can eat with knife and fork but being Lebanese, I love eating it with the bread. The meals are heavy so don't over order and the bread does fill you up.
Be sure to order the hot bean mix! yummy

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinia also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Abyssinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abyssinia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.