We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ethiopian food across the border” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abyssinia

Abyssinia
Brookside Grove | Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
+254-725-15-15-15
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 417 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great Ethiopian food across the border”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The best Ethiopian food I have had in Nairobi! Service is excellent and the food is always a treat. Get multiple items to share and some beers...you will leave a happy person!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Nomadic_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
140 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Ethiopian culinary experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you can't go to Ethiopia and happen to be in Nairobi, Abyssinia is a true experience. The way they traditionally eat based in their bread called Injera which is to my delight "gluten free" as its made from rice flour.
The round tray is filled up with the bread and you just add all the meals you choose onto the tray and scoop the food with your bread. U can eat with knife and fork but being Lebanese, I love eating it with the bread. The meals are heavy so don't over order and the bread does fill you up.
Be sure to order the hot bean mix! yummy

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you like to try something diiferent - this is the right place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

More than 25 visits during the last couple of years - every time, without exception - food was delicious. To make injera they don't use traditional ethiopian flour, but they use rice flour - delicious. Combos are all excellent. D'Oro Abyssinian - perfect combination of spices. Service has always been very good. And the coffe ceremony... Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
229 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Great kitfo, relaxed ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went here twice and both times the food was truly excellent. It has a good laid back atmosphere, different places to sit, inside and outside. The kitfo is the best I ever tasted. The waiters are not the fastest so no place to go if you are in a hurry. Extremely friendly and professional manager, they are open every day for lunch and dinner.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A great introduction to Ethiopian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited midweek and the restaurant was surprisingly very busy. The decor is very basic and the food is extremely good value. We all shared the combination menu which was a selection of meat and vegetable dishes served on one large plate and accompanied with injera bread. We ate with our hands and without plates, a great experience. The service was not great but the manager / owner was there to help and give advice. We ended the meal with some great Ethiopian coffee.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieGastroGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinia also viewed

 

Been to Abyssinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing