We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ethiopian culinary experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abyssinia

Abyssinia
Brookside Grove | Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Ethiopian culinary experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you can't go to Ethiopia and happen to be in Nairobi, Abyssinia is a true experience. The way they traditionally eat based in their bread called Injera which is to my delight "gluten free" as its made from rice flour.
The round tray is filled up with the bread and you just add all the meals you choose onto the tray and scoop the food with your bread. U can eat with knife and fork but being Lebanese, I love eating it with the bread. The meals are heavy so don't over order and the bread does fill you up.
Be sure to order the hot bean mix! yummy

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    26
    11
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you like to try something diiferent - this is the right place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

More than 25 visits during the last couple of years - every time, without exception - food was delicious. To make injera they don't use traditional ethiopian flour, but they use rice flour - delicious. Combos are all excellent. D'Oro Abyssinian - perfect combination of spices. Service has always been very good. And the coffe ceremony... Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great kitfo, relaxed ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went here twice and both times the food was truly excellent. It has a good laid back atmosphere, different places to sit, inside and outside. The kitfo is the best I ever tasted. The waiters are not the fastest so no place to go if you are in a hurry. Extremely friendly and professional manager, they are open every day for lunch and dinner.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A great introduction to Ethiopian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited midweek and the restaurant was surprisingly very busy. The decor is very basic and the food is extremely good value. We all shared the combination menu which was a selection of meat and vegetable dishes served on one large plate and accompanied with injera bread. We ate with our hands and without plates, a great experience. The service was not great but the manager / owner was there to help and give advice. We ended the meal with some great Ethiopian coffee.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi and Mombasa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“It was fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

OK, it was nice. The decor a bit tired in places. The service was lower key than most Nairobi establishments (where you feel four pairs of eyes watching every mouthfull), so that is a big positive. When you actually needed something it wasn't hard to find someone who would deliver quickly. We had the Manuel of waiters, who, when we asked for menus, took the menu from my friend and handed it to me. Tried to explain it would be nice to have one each (there was a big pile on a desk). But after initial hiccups, food was delivered with a flourish fit for the occasion... and tasted OK. (I'm just not a fan of Ethiopian food, but the people I ate with were able to finish everything and mop up with their bread. they said it was great food, but other places around are more generous with portions)
The clientèle was very much ex pat.
Location is quiet, all seemed well run.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinia also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya

Been to Abyssinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abyssinia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.