We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great introduction to Ethiopian cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abyssinia

Abyssinia
Brookside Grove | Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 322 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A great introduction to Ethiopian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited midweek and the restaurant was surprisingly very busy. The decor is very basic and the food is extremely good value. We all shared the combination menu which was a selection of meat and vegetable dishes served on one large plate and accompanied with injera bread. We ate with our hands and without plates, a great experience. The service was not great but the manager / owner was there to help and give advice. We ended the meal with some great Ethiopian coffee.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi and Mombasa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“It was fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

OK, it was nice. The decor a bit tired in places. The service was lower key than most Nairobi establishments (where you feel four pairs of eyes watching every mouthfull), so that is a big positive. When you actually needed something it wasn't hard to find someone who would deliver quickly. We had the Manuel of waiters, who, when we asked for menus, took the menu from my friend and handed it to me. Tried to explain it would be nice to have one each (there was a big pile on a desk). But after initial hiccups, food was delivered with a flourish fit for the occasion... and tasted OK. (I'm just not a fan of Ethiopian food, but the people I ate with were able to finish everything and mop up with their bread. they said it was great food, but other places around are more generous with portions)
The clientèle was very much ex pat.
Location is quiet, all seemed well run.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've been to Abyssinia a number of times and keep going back. It's one of our favourite restaurants in Nairobi. The food is delicious, the service is good and it's good value for money. We always sit in the garden area which is really relaxed and we try to go with a group so that we can order a large share plates (at the back of the menu) and try a bit of everything. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“stunningly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

One of our local expat friends turned us on to Abyssinia and we couldn't have been happier. Tucked away in a quiet shady grove near Muguga Green, it's a delightful little world of its own, with excellent food, great service and the lovely smell of frankincense wafting through the air. Best of all, it's outstanding value for money. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinia also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Abyssinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abyssinia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.